Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Shows Three Changes For Celtic Cup Final

Leinster ‘A’ Team Shows Three Changes For Celtic Cup Final

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face their Scarlets counterparts in Saturday afternoon’s Celtic Cup final at Parc y Scarlets (kick-off 4pm) has been announced.

This will be the second time the two sides have met in this inaugural edition of the new Irish-Welsh development competition. Leinster ‘A’ travelled to Llanelli in round 3, winning 16-10 thanks to a try from Conor O’Brien and 11 points from the boot of Noel Reid.

Three more victories followed, including a crucial 46-25 over Munster ‘A’ at Energia Park last Friday night to secure top spot in the Irish Conference table with 29 points. Scarlets ‘A’ won the Welsh pool with three wins out of six and 19 points.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are three changes to the Leinster ‘A’ team that accounted for Munster ‘A’, all in the back-line. Michael Silvester comes in on the left wing in place of Dave Kearney. Ciaran Frawley and Hugh O’Sullivan form a new half-back partnership, replacing Noel Reid and Patrick Patterson respectively.

The province’s pack is unchanged from the final round of the pool stages. Full-back Jack Kelly once again captains the side as they aim to become the first team to be crowned champions of the new Celtic Cup.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Scarlets ‘A’): Jack Kelly (capt); Adam Byrne, Jimmy O’Brien, Tom Daly, Michael Silvester; Ciaran Frawley, Hugh O’Sullivan, Peter Dooley, Ronan Kelleher, Vakh Abdaladze, Ross Molony, Mick Kearney, Josh Murphy, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Jack Aungier, Ryan Baird, Oisin Dowling, Patrick Patterson, Harry Byrne, David Hawkshaw.