Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

In Pics: Taoiseach Leo Varadkar Meets The WRWC 2017 Captains

In Pics: Taoiseach Leo Varadkar Meets The WRWC 2017 Captains

The excitement and anticipation is building for the start of the Women’s Rugby World Cup on Wednesday. Today saw the twelve team captains, including Ireland’s Claire Molloy, take a trip to Government Buildings in central Dublin to meet An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar TD.

Click here to view photos from today’s media event at the Taoiseach’s office which was attended by the twelve WRWC 2017 captains – Ireland’s Claire Molloy, England’s Sarah Hunter, Chow Mei-nam from Hong Kong, Seina Saito of Japan, Wales’ Carys Phillips, Gaelle Mignot of France, New Zealand’s Fiao’o Fa’amausili, Sara Barattin from Italy, Kelly Russell of Canada, Australia’s Shannon Parry, Spain’s Aroa Gonzalez and Tiffany Faaee of the USA.

Looking forward to getting the tournament underway against the Wallaroos on Wednesday (kick-off 7pm), Molloy said: “We want to put into practice what we’ve been doing, our systems, we want to get that first hit out of the way, the scrums, the lineouts. We want the contact and we just really want to have a big game against Australia and a big performance.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“I think Australia are going to bring physicality, they’re going to be aggressive. They’re going to be hungry for that ball, they’re going to have work-rate and energy. They’ve got a big pack, they’re going to try to dominate us there. They’ve got decent backs out there and they’ve got some Olympic medallists in their squad who are going to lead from the front and show their experience.

“It’s going to be a tough day out there. But we’ve got the team, we’ve got the 28 players who can go out there and get the result. We’ve just got to get things right on the day and be clinical.”

For more on the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup, visit the tournament website – www.rwcwomens.com. Buy your match tickets for #WRWC2017 now on www.ticketmaster.co.uk/wrwc2017 and www.ticketmaster.ie/wrwc2017.