Jump to main content


Molony To Captain Leinster Against Glasgow

Molony To Captain Leinster Against Glasgow

Ahead of the Captain’s Run this afternoon, Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced his team to take on Glasgow Warriors in the GUINNESS PRO12 at the RDS on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

There are 13 personnel changes the team that faced Clermont Auvergne in last Sunday’s Champions Cup semi-final, with a number of significant milestones celebrated at the Ballsbridge venue as Leinster look to secure a PRO12 top of the table finish.

Zane Kirchner will start his last regular season game at the RDS before he joins the Newport Gwent Dragons in the summer, while Adam Byrne comes in on the right wing and Fergus McFadden switches to the left.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Carlow man Tom Daly will start his first ever game at the RDS. In his eight games to date (seven off the bench and one start away to Zebre in November), the strong-running centre has scored two tries. He will have Old Belvedere’s Rory O’Loughlin outside him in the number 13 jersey.

UCD clubman Nick McCarthy will make his first senior start for Leinster at scrum half with his former St. Michael’s College class-mate Ross Byrne outside him at number 10.

A completely new front row sees Peter Dooley at loosehead prop, James Tracy at hooker and Mike Ross, who announced his retirement on Tuesday, starts his last regular season game at the RDS at tighthead.

Ross Molony will captain the province for the first time in competitive action. He has previously captained Leinster in a pre-season friendly against Bath but this will be the first time he leads the team out in the PRO12. Beside him, fresh from helping Clontarf qualifying for another Ulster Bank League final, Mick Kearney slots into the second lock position.

Jack Conan is the only back rower retained from Lyon, continuing at number 8 for his 50th cap in Leinster colours, while Dominic Ryan comes in at blindside flanker and Josh van der Flier is selected at openside.

Tickets for Leinster v Glasgow Warriors are still on sale online here with the ticket office at the Anglesea Road gate also open from 6pm on match night.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Zane Kirchner; Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Tom Daly, Fergus McFadden; Ross Byrne, Nick McCarthy; Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Mike Ross, Ross Molony (capt), Mick Kearney, Dominic Ryan, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Jack McGrath, Michael Bent, Ian Nagle, Dan Leavy, Jamison Gibson Park, Joey Carbery, Noel Reid.