Jump to main content


Nine Changes Made To Emerging Ireland Side

Nine Changes Made To Emerging Ireland Side

The Emerging Ireland coaches have named their team to face hosts Georgia in the final game of the 2015 World Rugby Tbilisi Cup. There are nine changes to the starting line-up from Wednesday’s 33-7 victory over Uruguay.

Connacht’s Eoghan Masterson switches to the blindside flank in place of the injured Rhys Ruddock and is joined in the back row by Dan Leavy at openside and Jack Conan at number 8.

Billy Holland takes over the captaincy and is partnered in the second row by Ben Marshall, the fifth and final try scorer against Uruguay. Hooker Rob Herring returns to make it an all-senior international front row alongside James Cronin and Stephen Archer.
Luke McGrath and JJ Hanrahan are the starting half-backs for the second time in the tournament, with Noel Reid and Stuart McCloskey selected together in the centre. Matt Healy has recovered from a stomach bug and will play alongside Andrew Conway and Tiernan O’Halloran in the back-three.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The replacements include Dave Heffernan, Denis Buckley, Finlay Bealham, Andrew Browne, Frankie Taggart (pictured above), John Cooney, Eoin Griffin and Peter Nelson.
After two bonus point victories, Emerging Ireland have claimed the Tbilisi Cup title but Sunday’s game gives the squad another chance to impress against a side that are preparing for the upcoming Rugby World Cup. Georgia are in Pool C of the World Cup alongside reigning champions New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga and Namibia.

All of the 2015 Tbilisi Cup matches are streamed live online here via the Georgian Rugby Union website.

2015 Tbilisi Cup – Ticket Details

EMERGING IRELAND Team & Replacements (v Georgia, Tbilisi Cup Round 3, Avchala Stadium, Tbilisi, Georgia, Sunday, June 21, kick-off 7pm local time/4pm Irish time):
15. Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht)
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster)
13. Stuart McCloskey (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
12. Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)
11. Matt Healy (Lansdowne/Connacht)
10. JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
1. James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster)
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
3. Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster)
4. Ben Marshall (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
5. Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt)
6. Eoghan Masterson (Corinthians/Connacht)
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster)
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

16. Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17. Denis Buckley (Corinthians/Connacht)
18. Finlay Bealham (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Andrew Browne (Galwegians/Connacht)
20. Frankie Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
21. John Cooney (Terenure College/Connacht)
22. Eoin Griffin (London Irish)
23. Peter Nelson (Malone/Ulster)

Emerging Ireland Management Team –

Allen Clarke – Coach
Girvan Dempsey – Assistant Coach
Joey Miles – Manager
Jim McShane – Team Doctor
Karl Denvir – Physio
Sean Mannion – Team Analyst
Aidan O’Connell – S&C Coach
Johnny O’Hagan – Baggage Man
Carmel O’Dwyer – Squad Co-ordinator


Saturday, June 13 –

Emerging Italy 0 Emerging Ireland 25, Avchala Stadium

Georgia 19 Uruguay 10, Avchala Stadium

Wednesday, June 17 –

Uruguay 7 Emerging Ireland 33, Avchala Stadium

Georgia 10 Emerging Italy 26, Avchala Stadium

Sunday, June 21 –

Uruguay v Emerging Italy, Avchala Stadium, 5pm local time
Georgia v Emerging Ireland, Avchala Stadium, 7pm local time/4pm Irish time