Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-19 Sevens Squad Named For European Championship

Ireland U-19 Sevens Squad Named For European Championship

Anthony Eddy has named a 12-man squad for the Rugby Europe Men’s Under-19 Sevens Championship which takes place at Louis Darragon Stadium in Vichy, France this coming weekend.

Ireland are in Pool D alongside Poland, Moldova and Latvia, with their opening fixture coming against the Moldovans on Saturday morning before they take on Latvia and finally Poland.

Ireland are seeded fifth for the 16-team competition after winning the Plate title at last year’s Europeans in Lisbon. Defending champions France, Russia, Portugal and Poland are the top four.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The selected Irish squad for this weekend contains four UCD players, including Matthew Gilsenan and Jack Power from last year’s Ireland U-18 Schools team, and Terenure College’s Michael Melia who played at lock in the Ireland U-19s’ recent double header against France in Marcoussis.

Terry Kennedy, who touched down on his Ulster Bank League debut for St. Mary’s earlier this month, has earned a call-up along with Bristol’s Josh Daly and Ulster recruit Kieran Joyce who played together in the centre for the Ireland U-18 Clubs side last year.

IRELAND UNDER-19 SEVENS Squad (Rugby Europe Men’s Under-19 Sevens European Championship, Vichy, France, April 25-26):

Kelvin Brown (Shannon/Munster)   
Josh Daly (Bristol Academy/Exiles)                                       
Matthew Gilsenan (UCD/Leinster)                             
Kieran Joyce (Malone/Ulster)        
Alex Kane (Wimbledon College/Exiles)   
Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)                                
Terry Kennedy (St Mary’s College/Leinster)     
Alex Kilbane (Filton College/Exiles)        
Dan Lavelle (UCD/Leinster)           
Michael Melia (Terenure College/Leinster)                                
Jack Power (UCD/Leinster)                                
Ciaran Wardle (Worcester Warriors/Exiles)

IRELAND FIXTURES –                                   
Saturday, April 25:
11.34am local time – Ireland v Moldova
1.24pm – Ireland v Latvia
5.48pm – Poland v Ireland
Sunday, April 26:

Tournament Pools/Fixtures


Anthony Eddy (Director of Sevens)
Hugh Hogan (Head Coach)
Colm McMahon (Assistant Coach)
Barry Smith (Physio)
Sinéad Bennett (Operations Manager)