Jump to main content


Prop Kelly Gets Munster ‘A’ Call-Up

Prop Kelly Gets Munster ‘A’ Call-Up

Munster ‘A’ head coach Mick O’Driscoll has named his team to face Nottingham in round 4 of the British & Irish Cup at Temple Hill on Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

Mick O’Driscoll’s 22-man squad features a strong mix of senior, Ccademy and club talent. An all-senior front row sees loosehead Alan Cotter and hooker Niall Scannell start alongside tighthead prop Martin Kelly, who makes his first appearance for the province after successfully rehabbing a calf injury.

Kelly began a one-year development contract in July and has featured for Young Munster in Division 1A of the Ulster Bank League in recent weeks.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Shane Buckley makes the switch from blindside flanker to second row this weekend and will partner year two Academy player Sean McCarthy who makes his fourth consecutive British & Irish Cup start.

Having featured in Munster’s PRO12 victory away to the Newport Gwent Dragons last weekend, Dave O’Callaghan will start in the number 6 jersey with Academy representatives Ryan Murphy and captain Jack O’Donoghue completing the back row at openside and number 8 respectively.

At half-back, year one academy scrum half Jamie Glynn is set to make his first British & Irish Cup start with Johnny Holland continuing at number 10.

Academy centre Rory Scannell – the Munster ‘A’ side’s leading points scorer in this season’s competition (25 points) – starts at inside centre, while in the outside channel, Ivan Dineen makes his first appearance of the 2014/15 British & Irish Cup having already featured for Munster in four PRO12 clashes to date this season.

Luke O’Dea takes charge of the left wing position with the Academy’s Darren Sweetnam another to make his seasonal debut in the British & Irish Cup as he comes in on the right wing, while Johne Murphy completes the back three at full-back.

Impressive performances at club level has seen the likes of Andrew O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution), Christy Condon (Midleton), Lee Nicholas (Shannon), Joe McSwiney (Lansdowne) and Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution) named among the replacements alongside Academy backs Greg O’Shea and Dan Goggin.

Tickets are just €;10 and can be purchased online here, while entry is FREE for all MRSC members and Ten Year Ticket holders (on production of your membership card or ticket book).

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Nottingham): Johne Murphy; Darren Sweetnam, Ivan Dineen, Rory Scannell, Luke O’Dea; Johnny Holland, Jamie Glynn; Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell, Martin Kelly, Shane Buckley, Sean McCarthy, Dave O’Callaghan, Ryan Murphy, Jack O’Donoghue (capt).

Replacements: Andrew O’Driscoll, Christy Condon, Lee Nicholas, Joe McSwiney, Gerry Hurley, Greg O’Shea, Dan Goggin.