Jump to main content


Squad Named For Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens

Squad Named For Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens

Squad Named For Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens

Ireland Women’s Sevens head coach Jon Skurr has announced a 12-woman squad for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow (June 29-30).

The journey began just over a year ago when a preliminary training squad for a Women’s Sevens team was announced. The objective then was to qualify for the Rugby World Cup.

That goal achieved and the past 12 months have been about building on the experience of qualification and preparing to take on the best Women’s Sevens sides in the world.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Along the way the Irish Women have gained a huge amount of experience and added silverware to the cupboard. Now, the final 12 has been named to challenge for the Rugby World Cup and to secure a regular place in the Women’s Sevens tournament cycle.

The squad contains several players who helped Ireland to their historic first Grand Slam earlier this year, including Ireland’s most capped player Lynne Cantwell.

Injury has ruled out a number of experienced squad members, but head coach Jon Skurr is confident that this panel of players will do the country proud.

“When we started the Sevens programme last year we set the Rugby World Cup as our goal. We achieved it and since then these girls have worked very hard to improve their Sevens skills,” he said.

“Along the way we have picked up some notable wins but this is the biggest test of all.

“It is really tough on those girls who have missed out, particularly through injury, but I know that the 12 we have selected will do their best to make everyone who has worked for this proud of them.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens, Gorodok Stadium, Luzhniki Olympic Complex, Moscow, Russia, Saturday, June 29-Sunday, June 30):

1. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
2. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Exile) (capt) *
3. Sophie Spence (Mowden Sharks/Exile) *
4. Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
5. Larissa Muldoon (UWIC/Exile) *
6. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile) *
7. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht) *
8. Shannon Houston (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
9. Amy Davis (Blackock College/Ulster) *
10. Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
11. Laura O’Mahony (Tralee/Munster)
12. Nicole Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Injured: Niamh Briggs, Niamh Kavanagh, Ashling Hutchings, Claire Keohane, Carol Staunton.

Players Involved in the 2013 RBS 6 Nations Championship

Ireland Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens Fixtures –

Saturday, June 29 – Pool B

South Africa v Ireland, Gorodok Stadium, 10.06am local time/7.06am Irish time

Australia v Ireland, Gorodok Stadium, 12.40pm local time/9.40am Irish time

China v Ireland, Luzhniki Stadium, 3.58pm local time/12.58pm Irish time

Sunday, June 30 – Play-Offs


Related Links –

Ireland Women Finish Fifth In European Sevens Series

Ireland Women Light Up Marbella Sevens

Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens