Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20 Team To Play Italy

Ireland Under-20 Team To Play Italy

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, has been named to face Italy in their final match of the Under-20 Six Nations Championship on Friday.

Head coach Mike Ruddock has made five changes in personnel to the team that overcame France 22-5 in their last outing in Athlone.

Darragh Leader, a second half replacement against the French, comes in at full-back to replace Stuart Olding who has been called up for provincial duty with Darren Sweetnam named on the right wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Front rowers Ryan Furniss and John Andrew will make their first starts of the Championship alongside loosehead prop Peter Dooley.

Andrew will don the number 2 jersey, taking over from George McGuigan who is recovering from a knock he picked up in the previous round. Furniss will fill the tighthead role vacated by Christopher Taylor.

Sean McCarthy comes into the starting line-up in place of Gavin Thornbury, forming a second row partnership with John Donnan.

Speaking ahead of the game, Ruddock said: “Despite the fact that we are missing a few frontliners due to injury and unavailability we have still been able to select a strong side.

“We are looking forward to a very physical encounter against the Italian side. We are obviously looking to build on our win from last week to take us through into the IRB Junior World Championship.

“We have added some new combinations to the bench as we look towards the summer.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v Italy Under-20s, 2013 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship, Stadio dei Marsi, Avezzano, Friday, March 15, kick-off 7pm local time/6pm Irish time):

15 – Darragh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)
14 – Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster)
13 – Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12 – Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
11 – Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 – Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9 – Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1 – Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2 – John Andrew (Ballymena/Ulster)
3 – Ryan Furniss (Worcester Warriors/Exiles)
4 – Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
5 – John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6 – Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
7 – Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8 – Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)


16 – Bryan Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
17 – Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18 – Brian Scott (UCC/Munster)
19 – Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
20 – Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
21 – David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster)
22 – Eogháin Quinn (Lansdowne/Leinster)
23 – David Panther (Corinthians/Connacht)


Friday, February 1, 7.10pm – Wales U-20s 17 Ireland U-20s 15, Parc Eirias
Friday, February 8, 7.35pm – Ireland U-20s 16 England U-20s 15, Dubarry Park
Friday, February 22, 7.30pm – Scotland U-20s 21 Ireland U-20s 20, Netherdale
Friday, March 8, 7.45pm – Ireland U-20s 22 France U-20s 5, Dubarry Park
Friday, March 15, 7pm local time/6pm Irish time – Italy U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Stadio dei Marsi