Jump to main content


PWC logo

Henshaw To Start For Ireland Under-20s

Henshaw To Start For Ireland Under-20s

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, has been named today by head coach Mike Ruddock for this Friday’s game against England at Dubarry Park in Athlone.

Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw, a native of Athlone, comes in for his first Ireland Under-20 cap at full-back.

Henshaw, who appeared for the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds last month, has been named alongside David Panter and Rory Scholes in a new look back-three.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mark Roche, also making his first appearance of the Six Nations Championship, will partner his Lansdowne club-mate Tom Daly in the centre. Rory Scannell, who started in the centre against Wales, will fill the out-half role this time.

In the forwards, Peter Dooley has been named in the front row alongside George McGuigan and Chris Taylor.

There will be live TV coverage of Friday’s match at Dubarry Park on RTÉ Two, beginning at 7.30pm.

Match tickets are sale at the Bounty. Family tickets are excellent value at €;30 for two adults and two children in the covered terrace.

Stand tickets cost €;20 each and are selling steadily already, as is the pre-match function where you can enjoy a three-course meal with wine and also have a reserved seat in the stand for only €;40 per person.

Group bookings welcome. Please contact Geraldine at 0861732711 for all pre-match function and/or match ticket enquiries/bookings.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2013 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship, Dubarry Park, Athlone, Friday, February 8, kick-off 7.35pm):

15 – Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
14 – David Panter (Corinthians/Connacht)
13 – Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12 – Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Connacht)
11 – Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 – Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
9 – Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1 – Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2 – George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles)
3 – Chris Taylor (Malone/Ulster)
4 – Gavin Thornbury (UCD/Leinster)
5 – John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6 – Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
7 – Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)
8 – Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)


16 – John Andrew (Ballymena/Ulster)
17 – Ryan Furniss (Worcester Warriors/Exiles)
18 – Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Connacht)
19 – Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
20 – Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
21 – John Creighton (Malone/Ulster)
22 – Eogháin Quinn (Lansdowne/Leinster)
23 – Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster)


Friday, February 1, 7.10pm – Wales U-20s 17 Ireland U-20s 15, Parc Eirias
Friday, February 8, 7.35pm – Ireland U-20s v England U-20s, Dubarry Park
Friday, February 22, 7.30pm – Scotland U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Netherdale
Friday, March 8, 7.45pm – Ireland U-20s v France U-20s, Dubarry Park
Friday, March 15, 7pm local time/6pm Irish time – Italy U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Stadio dei Marsi