Jump to main content


Ireland XV Named For Barbarians Clash

Ireland XV Named For Barbarians Clash

The Ireland XV for the uncapped game against the Barbarians in Gloucester on Tuesday has been named. Ireland’s most capped player Ronan O’Gara will captain a side that contains a blend of youth and experience.

Ronan O’Gara is partnered at half-back by his Munster colleague Conor Murray, while Ulster duo Paddy Wallace and Darren Cave will form the centre partnership.

Keith Earls starts at full-back with the uncapped Craig Gilroy and Simon Zebo making their first starts in a senior game on the wings.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front Brett Wilkinson and Declan Fitzpatrick will pack down on either side of Mike Sherry in an uncapped front row.

Dan Tuohy and Donnacha Ryan form a new second row partnership at this level, while Peter O’Mahony starts at number 8 with John Muldoon and Chris Henry completing the back row.

The game is not being televised by the Barbarians and updates direct from Kingsholm will be available on our O2 MatchDay Live service on www.irishrugby.ie/live.

Tickets for the match are available to purchase here.

IRELAND XV Team & Replacements (v Barbarians, Summer Tour Warm-Up Match, Kingsholm, Gloucester, Tuesday, May 29, kick-off 7.45pm):

15. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
14. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) *
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12. Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
10. Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
1. Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht) *
2. Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *
3. Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster) *
4. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
5. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
6. John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
7. Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
8. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)


16. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
17. Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht) *
18. Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19. James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster) *
20. Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
21. Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
22. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)