Jump to main content


Ireland Schools Team Named For Semi-Final Clash

Ireland Schools Team Named For Semi-Final Clash

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team, sponsored by PwC, to play France in the semi-finals of the FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship in Madrid on Tuesday has been named.

The Terry McMaster-led management team have made a number of changes to the Ireland side that defeated Portugal 34-24 in their tournament opener last Friday.

Squad captain Daniel Leavy starts this game in a much-changed pack. He is joined in the back row by Rory Maloney and Peadar Timmins who both featured in the first game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is a new front row with Charlie Slowey, Max Abbott and Eoghan McKeever combining, while Ross Maloney and Sean O’Brien make up the second row.

In the back-line Bobby Holland and Conor McKeon are unchanged as the starting half-backs with Harrison Brewer, a try scorer against the Portuguese, joined in the centre by Rory O’Loughlin.

David Johnston switches to the right wing with Gregory O’Shea coming in on the left. William Dardis completes the back-three.

Highlights of Ireland’s five-try victory over Portugal can be viewed here.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Team & Replacements (v France Under-18s, FIRA/AER U-18 European Championship Semi-Final, Ciudad Universitaria, Madrid, Tuesday, April 3, kick-off 5.30pm local time/4.30pm Irish time):

15 – William Dardis (Terenure College/Leinster)
14 – David Johnston (Rockwell College/Munster)
13 – Rory O’Loughlin (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
12 – Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)
11 – Gregory O’Shea (Crescent College/Munster)
10 – Conor McKeon (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
9 – Bobby Holland (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
1 – Charlie Slowey (CBC Cork/Munster)
2 – Max Abbott (PBC Cork/Munster)
3 – Eoghan McKeever (CBC Monkstown/Leinster)
4 – Ross Molony (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
5 – Sean O’Brien (CC Roscrea/Connacht)
6 – Rory Maloney (CC Roscrea/Leinster)
7 – Daniel Leavy (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) (capt)
8 – Peadar Timmins (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)


16 – Dylan Donnellan (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
17 – Aidan Slattery (PBC Cork/Munster)
18 – Shane Delahunt (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
19 – Shane Boyle (Sligo GS/Connacht)
20 – Darragh Moloney (CBC Cork/Munster)
21 – Josh Fullerton (CCB/Ulster)
22 – Gearoid Lyons (Crescent College/Munster)
23 – Stephen O’Neill (Terenure College/Leinster)
24 – Cian Kelleher (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
25 – Cormac O’Donnell (St. Munchin’s College/Munster)
26 – Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College/Leinster)

Ireland’s FIRA/AER U-18 European Championship Fixtures:

Friday, March 30
Ireland 34 Portugal 24

Tuesday, April 3
Semi-final: Ireland v France, 5.30pm local time/4.30pm Irish time

Saturday, April 7
Final: Ireland/France v England/Wales, 4.45pm local time/3.45pm Irish time
3rd-4th Play-off: Ireland/France v England/Wales, 3pm local time/2pm Irish time

* All matches will be played at Ciudad Universitaria in Madrid