Jump to main content


Day And Staunton Start For Ireland Women

Day And Staunton Start For Ireland Women

The Ireland Women’s team to play Wales in the Women’s RBS 6 Nations Championship on Sunday has been named by head coach Philip Doyle.

The selected team is again captained by prop Fiona Coghlan who has been announced as the Irish Times Sportswoman of the Month for February.

Philip Doyle has made two changes in personnel to the side that beat Scotland 22-5 in their last Six Nations outing a fortnight ago.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Lauren Day and Carol Staunton make their return to the starting line-up in the front and back row respectively. Laura Guest, who started at blindside flanker against Scotland, will partner Marie Louise Reilly in the second row.

Ailis Egan comes into the squad as a replacement prop as Doyle seeks to increase the number of players gaining experience at this level. Heather O’Brien will also provide back-up on the bench.

Speaking ahead of Sunday’s game, Doyle said: “The squad are looking forward to this weekend’s test. Wales away is always a strong challenge and we are under no illusions about the strength of this Welsh side.

“We have had good results so far in the tournament and are striving for another positive result this weekend.”

The Wales v Ireland fixture is taking place at Pandy Park, the home of Cross Keys RFC. Tickets can be purchased on the day, they are priced at £3 (field) and £5 (stand). Click here for directions to the ground.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Wales Women, 2011 Women’s RBS 6 Nations, Cross Keys RFC, Gwent, Sunday, March 13, kick-off 2.30pm):

15 – Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
14 – Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13 – Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile)
12 – Geraldine Rea (Highfield/Munster)
11 – Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians/Munster)
10 – Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9 – Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
1 – Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt)
2 – Gillian Bourke (Bristol/Munster)
3 – Lauren Day (Waterloo/Ulster)
4 – Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
5 – Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6 – Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16 – Stacey Kennedy (City of Derry/Ulster)
17 – Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18 – Deirdre O’Brien (Blackrock/Leinster)
19 – Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)
20 – Larissa Muldoon (UWIC/Exile)
21 – Gillian Nolan (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
22 – Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Leinster)