Jump to main content


Historic All-Ireland Under-17 Win For Waterpark

Historic All-Ireland Under-17 Win For Waterpark

Waterpark were impressive winners of the All-Ireland Under-17 Championship title last Saturday as they got of the better of Enniscorthy – 23-10 – in a well-contested final played at Naas RFC.

Waterpark captain Tom Kiersey proudly lifted the Under-17 IRFU trophy after his side emerged victorious against a gallant Enniscorthy side who, despite their best efforts, were unable to stop the Waterford club.

Enniscorthy won the toss and elected to play with the breeze and sun at their backs and within a minute had three points on the board when their out-half Brendan Kearney kicked a drop goal.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Waterpark responded with two penalties from their skipper Kiersey, before the Wexford outfit went ahead once again after a Dermot Breen try.

But that proved to be Enniscorthy’s late score of an entertaining decider. Waterpark hit back almost immediately with two tries before half-time from Kalani Moore and Damien O’Dwyer giving them an 18-10 lead going in at the break.

On the resumption, Waterpark added a third and final try when hooker Darren Coady blasted his way over the line.

The Waterpark youths had done enough to see out their first All-Ireland win, after a great season during which they also claimed East Munster and Munster honours.

The composure and disciplin they have shown when under pressure is a credit to the coaching and management team of George Anderson, Brian McCarthy, Willie Walsh and Ro O’Hare, and the ability of key players to produce the goods week after week is a massive plus.

Congratulations to all involved at Ballinakill, and commiserations to a very talented group of Enniscorthy players.

WATERPARK U-17: Tom O’Hare; Tom McCarthy, Aodghan Hendry, Ryan McKenna, Conor Molloy; Tom Kiersey (capt), Conor Haran; Keith Doherty, Darren Coady, Rob Fox, Niall O’Neill, Adam Walsh, Kalani Moore, Jack O’Donoghue, Damien O’Dwyer.

Replacements: Joe Foley, Jason Crotty, Peter Traynor, Andrew Moore, Michael Duggan, Conal McIntyre, Luke Maher.

Related Links –

Waterpark RFC

Enniscorthy RFC