Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20s Lose Out To Leinster Development Side

Ireland Under-20s Lose Out To Leinster Development Side

The Ireland Under-20 squad got a powerful lesson in pack play at UCD on Tuesday as the Leinster Development XV put them through their paces. The Leinster side ran out 17-6 winners in a match that serves as build-up for both the British & Irish Cup and the RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship.

The Leinster Development XV proved too strong up front for the Ireland Under-20s at UCD on Tuesday and eventually ran out deserving 17-6 winners.

With a number of Leinster players in the Ireland U-20 side and some former Ireland U-20s in the Leinster side, both teams knew each other very well.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Leinster notched up tries from Paul Ryan and Niall Morris. Ian McKinley converted the first try and added a penalty in the first half while Ian Madigan landed the conversion for Morris’ try.

Brian Kingston and James McKinney slotted a penalty apiece for the Ireland Under-20s.

Photo Gallery – click here.

LEINSTER DEVELOPMENT: Ian Madigan; Shane Monahan, Eoin O’Malley (capt), Kyle Tonetti, Michael Keating; Ian McKinley, David Moore; Jack McGrath, Jason Harris-Wright, Jack O’Connell, Ciaran Ruddock, Mark Flanagan, Eoin Sheriff, Jordi Murphy, Paul Ryan.

Replacements used: Richardt Strauss for Harris-Wright (47 mins), Niall Morris for McKinley (61), Chris Lilly for Monahan, Richard Bent for Murphy, Darren Hudson for Keating (all 65), Martin Moore for O’Connell, Colm Mallon for Ruddock (both 75).

IRELAND UNDER-20: Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Leinster); Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht), Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster), David McSharry (UCD/Leinster), Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster); Brian Kingston (Blackrock/Leinster), Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); Denis Buckley (Creggs/Connacht), Risterard Byrne (UCD/Leinster), Stewart Maguire (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ben Marshall (UCD/Leinster), Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution/Munster), Paddy Ryan (Highfield /Munster), Brian O’Hara (UL Bohemian/Munster (capt), Patrick Butler (Shannon/Munster).

Replacements used: Craig O’Hanlon (Shannon/Munster) for Zebo (27 mins), R O’Sullivan for O’Hara, Brian Cagney (UCC/Munster) for Buckley, James Robinson (Corinthians/Connacht) for Maguire (all half-time); David O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster) for Marshall, Rhys Ruddock (UCD/Leinster) for Ryan, Eoin Griffin (Corinthians/Connacht) for O’Halloran (all 48), David Doyle (UCD/Leinster) for Byrne, John Cooney (UCD/Leinster) for M Heaney (both 62), James McKinney (Queen’s University) for Kingston (64).

Referee: David Keane (IRFU)