Jump to main content


Brosnan Included In Women’s Team

Brosnan Included In Women’s Team

Ireland Women’s coach Steven Hennessy has made one change in personnel and one positional switch for the final game of the RBS 6 Nations Women’s Championship against Wales on Saturday.

Highfield’s Helen Brosnan comes into the starting line-up at centre with Lynne Cantwell, a try scorer in the win over Scotland, moving to the wing and Amy Davis reverting to the bench.

Replacement hooker Jess Limbert faces a late fitness test as she recovers from a knock. Connacht’s Claire Molloy remains on stand-by to take Limbert’s place on the bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland are second in the table, ahead of Wales on points difference with both teams having won three out of four so far.

England remain favourites to retain the title but Ireland will be hoping to maintain their winning form which has seen them defeat France, Italy and Scotland this season with the trophy still on the line.

A win on Saturday would help Ireland to their best ever finish in the tournament and cement the excellent progression the squad have made in recent seasons.

The game kicks off at 1pm on Saturday at Taff’s Well RFC, Cardiff, so a large crowd of Irish fans are expected to lend their support to captain Joy Neville and the rest of the players.

IRELAND WOMEN’S TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Wales Women, 2009 RBS Women’s 6 Nations Championship, Taff’s Well, Saturday, March 21, kick-off 1pm):

15 – Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
14 – Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13 – Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)
12 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
11 – Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
10 – Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Ulster)
9 – Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
1 – Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
2 – Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
3 – Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4 – Caroline Mahon (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
5 – Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
6 – Louise Austin (Blackrock/Leinster)
7 – Sinead Ryan (Navan/Leinster)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)


16 – Jess Limbert (Lichfield/Ulster)
17 – Lauren Day (Cooke/Ulster)
18 – Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
19 – Debbie Clarke (Blackrock/Leinster)
20 – Louise Beamish (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21 – Laura Nicholl (Cooke/Ulster)
22 – Amy Davis (Blackrock/Ulster)