Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20 Team Named

Ireland Under-20 Team Named

The Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers) to play the Scotland Under-20s in the RBS U-20 6 Nations Championship this Friday at McDiarmid Park in Perth shows no changes to the side that lined out last time out against England.

Ireland Under-20 coach Allen Clarke has retained the same starting side for the first time in the 2009 Championship, but has made two changes to the replacements bench.

Prop Adam Macklin comes into the matchday 22 in place of Jack O’Connell.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In addition, out-half Andrew Burke, who started the first game of the Championship against France, has returned from injury and been added to the bench in place of Gary Foley.

Coach Clarke said: “The win against England was a reflection of the strength of the squad’s character and resolve.

“However, there were particular aspects of our game we were not content with and these have received special attention this week.

“Scotland has shown they are a team to be reckoned with and respected, particularly at home.

“We are aware of the competitive challenge ahead and the levels of performance required. Our aim is clear – to keep progressing and improving as individuals and ultimately as a team.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Scotland Under-20s, 2009 RBS U-20 6 Nations Championship, McDiarmid Park, Perth, Friday, March 13, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
14 – Ronan O’Mahony (Garryowen/Munster)
13 – Ian McKinley (UCD/Leinster)
12 – Eamonn Sheridan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 – Michael Keating (Clontarf/Leinster)
10 – Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9 – Matthew Healy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 – Paddy McAllister (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
2 – Thomas Sexton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
3 – Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
4 – Ciaran Ruddock (Neath/Exiles)
5 – James Sandford (Queens University/Ulster)
6 – Rhys Ruddock (Millfield School/Exiles)
7 – Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
8 – Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt)


16 – David McGregor (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
17 – Adam Macklin (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
18 – Mark Flanagan (UCD/Leinster)
19 – Michael Noone (Seapoint/Leinster)
20 – Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
21 – Andrew Burke (Garryowen/Munster)
22 – Shane Gahan (Lansdowne/Leinster)