Jump to main content



Kidney Selects 34-Man Squad

Kidney Selects 34-Man Squad

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has announced a 34-man squad to reassemble for training in Dublin next week ahead of the opening game of the GUINNESS Series 2008 against Canada.

The 34-man squad includes six uncapped players. Jonathan Sexton, Keith Earls and Ian Dowling have been named in the backs, while Ryan Caldwell, Cian Healy and Donnacha Ryan are included in the forwards. 

The squad will train in Dublin on Monday and Tuesday next week and the matchday 22 for the opening game of the GUINNESS Series 2008 against Canada will be announced on Tuesday afternoon.

IRELAND Squad – GUINNESS Series 2008: 


Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)

Ian Dowling (Shannon – Munster)

Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College – Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster – Munster)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College – Leinster)

Shane Horgan (Boyne – Leinster)

Robert Kearney (UCD – Leinster)

Geordan Murphy (Leicester)

Brian O’Driscoll (UCD – Leinster) (capt)

Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution – Munster)

Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin – Munster)

Eoin Reddan (Wasps)

Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)

Peter Stringer (Shannon – Munster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena – Ulster)

Paddy Wallace (Ballymena – Ulster) 


Rory Best (Banbridge – Ulster)

Tony Buckley (Shannon – Munster)

Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon – Ulster)

Stephen Ferris (Dungannon – Ulster)

Jerry Flannery (Shannon – Munster)

John Hayes (Bruff – Munster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf – Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Naas – Leinster)

Marcus Horan (Shannon – Munster)

Bernard Jackman (Clontarf – Leinster)

Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)

Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution – Munster)

Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution – Munster)

Paul O’Connell (Young Munster – Munster)

Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster)

Alan Quinlan (Shannon – Munster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon – Munster)

David Wallace (Garryowen – Munster)