Jump to main content


Bowe Named Irish Players’ Player Of The Year

Bowe Named Irish Players’ Player Of The Year

Ulster and Ireland winger Tommy Bowe has been voted the 2008 IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year by his fellow players at the 6th annual IRUPA Rugby Players Awards, hosted at UCD’s O’Reilly Hall on Wednesday night.

Leinster and Ireland’s Rob Kearney was also amongst those honoured on the night when he was awarded the IRUPA Try of the Year for his try against Scotland at Croke Park.

Tommy Bowe was delighted to have won the Player of the Year award.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Monaghan man said: “After missing out on selection for the World Cup, the season seemed to just get better and better for me personally culminating in winning back my place in the Ireland team.

“This has topped it all off as it is the ultimate award in Ireland and I take great pleasure in winning it as it comes from the ones who really matter, the players.”

Niall Woods, CEO of the Irish Rugby Union Players Association, said: “Winning one of these awards is the recognition players themselves want. The winners can take great pride in knowing that they have the total respect of those who they play with and against.

“Congratulations to all those nominated and in particular to Tommy, Rob, Andy (Dunne), Cian (Healy) and David (Humphreys) in winning what are the most sought after awards in Irish rugby.”

The awards were made in the presence of some of the game’s most well-known names including Ireland and Lions captain Brian O’Driscoll, David Humphreys and former Ireland and Lions legends Keith Wood and Mick Galwey.

Click here for photos from the Awards ceremony.


IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year

Winner: Tommy Bowe (Ulster)

Nominations: Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (London Wasps)

IRUPA Unsung Hero

Winner: Andy Dunne (Connacht)

Nominations: Rory Best (Ulster), Andy Dunne (Connacht), Niall Ronan (Munster)

IRUPA Hall of Fame

Inducted: David Humphreys (Ulster)

IRUPA Try of the Year

Winner: Rob Kearney (Ireland v Scotland)

Nominations: Tommy Bowe (Ireland v Scotland), Rob Kearney (Ireland v Scotland), Andrew Trimble (Ulster v Gloucester)

IRUPA Newcomer of the Year 

Winner: Cian Healy (Leinster)

Nominations: Cian Healy (Leinster), Denis Hurley (Munster), Niall O’Connor (Ulster)