Jump to main content


Leinster Announce Squad For Edinburgh Trip

Leinster Announce Squad For Edinburgh Trip

Leinster’s extended squad for their Heineken Cup Pool 6 showdown with Edinburgh on Saturday (Murrayfield, kick-off 3.30pm) has been named, and it includes recent signing Guy Easterby and Bank of Ireland Player of the Month Bernard Jackman.

Easterby has been included in the panel that defeated the Scottish side 28-14 last weekend after re-joining Leinster earlier this week.

Easterby joins Bank of Ireland Player of the month Jackman and Felipe Contepomi, who scored a try in an 18-point haul in the RDS victory.

Leinster and Ireland full-back Girvan Dempsey could come into contention after missing the last three victories through injury. The team will be named on Friday lunch-time.

Meanwhile, Bank of Ireland is delighted to announce that hooker Bernard Jackman has been named as the Bank of Ireland Leinster Player of the Month for November.

A prestigious award voted for by Leinster supporters, November provided lots of play time to rate player performances, including the victorious opening Heineken Cup game against Leicester Tigers, Leinster’s win over Munster at Musgrave Park – the first in 22 years – and the determined win over the Ospreys in Wales.

Jackman was delighted to be presented with the Player of the Month award by Stephen Manson, Dublin Regional Manager of Bank of Ireland.

Jackman said: “It’s great to be nominated as the Bank of Ireland Leinster Player of the Month for November. It’s been a challenging month in terms of games with three away games out of the five played. Leinster have continued to step up to the mark and all of the team have put in top performances this month.”

LEINSTER Squad (v Edinburgh): Backs (13) – Chris Keane, Cillian Willis, Guy Easterby, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Christian Warner, Gordon D’Arcy, Brian O’Driscoll (capt), Gary Brown, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Rob Kearney, Girvan Dempsey.

Forwards (14) – Juan Gomez, Cian Healy, Ollie Le Roux, Brian Blaney, Bernard Jackman, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Keith Gleeson, Shane Jennings, Stephen Keogh, Jamie Heaslip.