Jump to main content


Carney To Make Test Debut

Carney To Make Test Debut

Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan has named recent rugby league convert Brian Carney on the right wing in the team to play Argentina in the summer tour’s first Test this weekend.

Carney is the only uncapped player in the starting XV and is joined in the back three by Gavin Duffy, who starts at full back for the first time for Ireland. There is a new centre partnership in the shape of Andrew Trimble and Kieran Lewis, who starts the game at inside centre. Paddy Wallace will also form the half-back combination with his Ulster team-mate Isaac Boss.

In the forwards, Jerry Flannery starts at hooker for the first time since last year’s summer tour. Malcolm O’Kelly also returns to the side after missing the entire RBS 6 Nations championship due to injury. In the back row, Jamie Heaslip will make his second start for Ireland at number 8. He will be flanked by Neil Best and the experienced Keith Gleeson. The team will be captained by Simon Best for the first time.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan said: “This tour is about allowing players to challenge for the World Cup squad and it starts this weekend in the first Test against Argentina. Players have to put their hands up over the next two weeks to put their case forward. Now that might put pressure on players, but there is no more pressurised an environment than international rugby and the World Cup, so this will be a good test for them.”

IRELAND TEAM AND REPLACEMENTS (v Argentina, Estadio Brigadier Estanislao Lopez del Barrio Centenario, Santa Fe, Saturday, May 26, kick-off 4.10pm (8.10pm Irish time)):

– Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15 – Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps
14 – Brian Carney (Clonakilty/Munster) 0
13 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 14
12 – Kieran Lewis (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 1
11 – Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 8
10 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster) 3
9 – Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster) 7
1 – Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster) 5
2 – Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster) 14
3 – Simon Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) (capt) 16
4 – Trevor Hogan (Shannon/Leinster) 3
5 – Malcolm O’Kelly (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 83
6 – Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 10
7 – Keith Gleeson (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 25
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster) 1


16 – Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster) 2
17 – Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster) 0
18 – Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster) 9
19 – Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster) 1
20 – Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster) 0
21 – Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers) 46
22 – Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians/Munster) 0