Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Seven Uncapped Players In Ireland Squad

Seven Uncapped Players In Ireland Squad

Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan has named seven uncapped players in a 30-man squad for the summer tour to Argentina and in so doing, has rested the majority of his senior players.

In the forwards, there are three uncapped players in the shape of props Peter Bracken and Tony Buckley, and flanker Shane Jennings. Alan Quinlan and Leo Cullen return to the Irish squad after missing out on the Six Nations championship, as does Stephen Ferris who was ruled out for much of the campaign due to a hand injury.

Ireland’s most-capped player Malcolm O’Kelly also returns to the squad having recovered from the knee injury that sidelined him for the entire championship. The twice-capped Bernard Jackman has been included as one of three hookers in the touring party.

Brian Carney

There are four uncapped players in the backs, with Tomas O’Leary and recent Rugby League convert Brian Carney (pictured left) named in an Ireland squad for the first time.

The squad will captained in South America by Ulster prop Simon Best.

Commenting on his selected squad, coach Eddie O’Sullivan said: “This tour was always about looking at options with the World Cup in mind. It is an opportunity for players to put their cases forward for France and in doing so, allowed us to rest the majority of the Six Nations squad.

“Argentina is always a tough place to tour and this will be no different. It gives us the chance to look at players in a pressurised Test match environment and as well as some experienced players, there are also some new prospects there who will benefit from the experience.”

On the subject of Brian Carney’s call-up, O’Sullivan added: “Brian has done well for Munster since his arrival and has earned a call into the squad. He has moved across from league without too much disruption to his game and I thought this was a good time to move him onto the next level and see how he performs.”

IRELAND SQUAD (Summer tour to Argentina) –

Forwards (17):

Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Simon Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
*Peter Bracken (Wasps)
*Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
Leo Cullen (Leicester)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
Keith Gleeson (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster)
Trevor Hogan (Shannon/Leinster)
Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster)
*Shane Jennings (Leicester)
Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Malcolm O’Kelly (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Alan Quinlan (Shannon/Munster)
Frankie Sheahan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)

Backs (13):

Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
*Brian Carney (Clonakilty/Munster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
*Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Kieran Lewis (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
*Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
*Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Wasps)
Jeremy Staunton (Wasps)**
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

N.B. * Indicates uncapped player
** Subject to fitness test


Saturday, May 26: Argentina v IRELAND, Estadio Brigadier Estanislao López del Barrio Centenario, Club Atletico Colon, Sante Fe City, 4.10pm local time (8.10pm Irish time)

Saturday, June 2: Argentina v IRELAND, Estadio José Amalfitani, Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires, 4.10pm local time (8.10pm Irish time)