Jump to main content


Finals Countdown: Clonakilty v Suttonians Stats

Finals Countdown: Clonakilty v Suttonians Stats

Click here for a statistical preview of Saturday’s AIB League Division Three final between Clonakilty and Suttonians.

…A view of the AIB League divisional trophies…

* Last five AIB League games this season: Clonakilty: WWWWW; Suttonians: WWWLW

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

* The regulation AIB League fixture between the two clubs took place on Saturday, January 7 last at Station road with Suttonians running out 23-12 winners.

* Clonakilty beat Bruff 24-3 in the Division Three semi-final – Suttonians got the better of Wanderers, winning 23-10.

* Beginning in the 2001/02 season, the two clubs have met five times in the AIB League with the ‘home’ team winning on each occasion.

* Greystones are the only club promoted out of Division Three that have later gone on to win the Division Three final.

* Suttonians won Division Four in 1996/97 with a 100% success story during their nine-match campaign.

* Both clubs in Saturday’s final were losing Division Three semi-finalists last season.

* Saturday will mark the second Leinster v Munster Division Three final – in 2003, Wanderers beat Waterpark 51-5 at Lansdowne Road.

* Clonakilty won the Junior Clubs’ Round Robin Series in 2000/01 and have just finished five seasons in AIB League Division Three.

* Suttonians won the Leinster League in 1995/96 and were promoted to the senior ranks – they have the last six seasons in Division Three.

* Clonakilty’s Noel O’Sullivan (17 tries) joins James Blaney of Division Two outfit Terenure College as the top try scorer in the entire League this season.

* A Munster club has never won the Division Three Championship.