Jump to main content


AIB Junior Cup: FT: Rainey 27 Youghal 5

AIB Junior Cup: FT: Rainey 27 Youghal 5

Tries from Neil Seffen, Nathan Amos (2) and player-coach John Andrews helped Rainey Old Boys pick up the inaugural AIB Junior Cup trophy at Lansdowne Road on Saturday.

…Rainey hooker Gary Coleman gets to grips with Youghal’s Brendan Mackey…

Tries from Neil Seffen, Nathan Amos (2) and player-coach John Andrews helped Rainey Old Boys pick up the inaugural AIB Junior Cup trophy at Lansdowne Road on Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

2005/06 AIB JUNIOR CUP FINAL: Saturday, April 8

RAINEY OLD BOYS 27 YOUGHAL 5, Lansdowne Road

Scorers: Rainey: Tries: Neil Seffen, Nathan Amos 2, John Andrews; Cons: Jerome McMurray 2; Pen: McMurray

Youghal: Try: Brendan Murray

Full-time – Rainey Old Boys have won the inaugural AIB Junior Cup. Rainey 27 Youghal 5. The Magherafelt club pick up the trophy at the presentation on the halfway line, adding to their Kukri Qualifying League triumph this season. Both Rainey and Youghal, who emerged with credit after drawing the second half 5-5, now turn their attentions to the All-Ireland Round Robin Series, which will see them compete with Monkstown and Westport for a place in AIB League Division Three next season.

80 mins – McMurray tries a drop goal but his attempt tails away to the left.

78 mins – Rainey player-coach John Andrews is confirmed as the AIB man-of-the-match.

73 mins – Try-scoring hero Nathan Amos is replaced as the Rainey cheers ring out at Lansdowne.

64 mins – Sean Barry has a try ruled out as Youghal continue to improve. Replacement Eoin Fox was found guilty of throwing a forward pass in the lead-up to the effort out on the left wing. Fox, Richard Laffan and Barry Kavanagh have come in off the bench for the Cork side. Rainey player-coach Andrews receives a great reception as he is subbed off – Evan Stewart comes on.

60 mins – Rainey make their first substitutions of the afternoon as Damian Campbell and James McBride come on.

56 mins – Brendan Murray, one of Youghal’s longest serving players, gets over for a try which sends the Cork supporters into raptures. Perhaps a chink of light for Doyle’s charges. Scrum half Joseph Lawlor began the move, Mark Walsh continued it and he put his fellow replacement Murray over. Walsh missed the conversion. Rainey 27 Youghal 5.

53 mins – Disaster strikes for Youghal before McMurray’s conversion attempt. Player-coach Doyle is stretchered off – Brendan Murray comes on. Gary McArdle also comes on as a hooker replacement for Sean Brosnan.

51 mins – Rainey’s first attack of the half yields a try. Player-coach and number eight John Andrews gets the score to the left side of the posts. McMurray draws his conversion kick wide. Rainey 27 Youghal 0.

Second half: 41 mins – Youghal have a lively start to the second half. Player-coach and number 10 Robbie Doyle kicks to touch when awarded a penalty, showing his side’s intent. But an overthrown lineout scuppers Youghal’s bid for an opening try. Youghal have brought centre Mark Walsh, their late drop goal hero from the semi-final, on.

…Youghal centre Eric Buckley comes under pressure from Rainey flankers Steven McGinnis and Stephen McKinstry…

40 mins – A disappointing half for Youghal comes to an end with them on the attack. Robbie Doyle tries to shake his side up as they gain some territory. Centre Thomas Curran is tackled well by Rainey and Youghal’s best attack of the half is halted. Half time: Rainey 22 Youghal 0.

37 mins – Youghal cough up a penalty, 15 metres from their own line. Jerome McMurray slots over the kick. Rainey 22 Youghal 0.

33 mins – Rainey waste little time in making of the man advantage as the floodlights are flicked on at headquarters. It’s a dark day and Youghal’s afternoon is not getting any brighter as prop Nathan Amos gets in for his second try. Jerome McMurray converts. Rainey 19 Youghal 0.

32 mins – Youghal lock Eoghan Power is yellow carded for pulling down a Rainey maul in the Cork side’s 22.

25 mins – As the rain begins to sheet down at Lansdowne, Youghal prop Jonathan Collins is forced off with a blood injury. Barry Kavanagh comes on.

21 mins – The Rainey pack power clear again. From a close-in drive, prop Nathan Amos plunges over. McMurray misses the conversion. Rainey 12 Youghal 0.

18 mins – Scrum half Paul comes back on. The pressure tells as Rainey get in for the opening try. The impressive O’Kane rumblesd forward, taking play to five metres out from the Youghal line. A quick recycle sees winger Neil Seffen dot down in the right corner. Jerome McMurray recovers some confidence with a brilliant conversion from close to the touchline. Rainey 7 Youghal 0.

14 mins – Rainey scrum half Richard Paul is forced off with a blood injury. James McBride comes on. A neat Youghal attack sees place brought up towards the Rainey 22 – full-back Sean Barry is just run into touch.

10 mins – An offside from Youghal allows McMurray a second penalty shot, but his central effort from 16 metres out is pushed wide to the left.

9 mins – Rainey continue their early dominance and a heavy hit by prop Neil O’Kane on Youghal centre Eric Buckley typifies the effort being shown. Buckley does well however to maintain possession for the Cork side.

5 mins – Youghal have yet to get into the Rainey half, but a break from player-coach and out-half Robbie Doyle inspires the Cork men and gains them some territory. Winger Brendan Mackey was unluck to drop the ball as an opening looked on the cards.

3 mins – Rainey captain Peter Boyle gathers in the restart and the Derry side’s pack impresses with a 20-metre rolling maul.

2 minutes – Jerome McMurray has a first shot at the posts after a Youghal offside but his left-footed penalty kick is a nervy one and it has neither the accuracy or distance.

Kick-off – Rainey out-half Jerome McMurray gets play underaway at headquarters. Youghal are playing into the wind.

Rainey: Rodney Paul; Neil Seffen, Simon Derby, Darryl Porter, Gavin Hogg; Jerome McMurray, Richard Paul; Nathan Amos, Gary Coleman, Neil O’Kane, Peter Boyle (capt), Cormac Diamond, Stephen McKinstry, Steven McGinnis, John Andrews.

Replacements: Damian Campbell, Paul McGuckian, Garreth Douglas, Evan Stewart, David Dawson, James McBride, Paul Suiter.

Youghal: Sean Barry; Brendan Mackey, Thomas Curran, Eric Buckley, Stephen Barron; Robbie Doyle, Joseph Lawlor; Jonathan Collins, Sean Brosnan, Roy McArdle (capt), Eoghan Power, Colin Mulcahy, Conor Coleman, Alan Browne, Shaun McCready.

Replacements: Gary McArdle, Richard Laffan, Ian Broderick, Barry Kavanagh, Mark Walsh, Brendan Murray, Eoin Fox.

Sin Bin: E Power (Youghal) (32 mins)

Referee: John Carvill (Leinster)