Jump to main content


Cup Final Glory for London Irish

Cup Final Glory for London Irish

20/04/02.Two tries from Justin Bishop and 13 points from the boot of Barry Everitt helped London Irish claim the Powergen Cup trophy with a 38-7 win over Northampton in Twickenham.

Irish led 24-0 at half time before the 2000 European Cup winners opened their account with a Ben Cohen try which Paul Grayson converted. But then with Northampton pressing and a second try looking on, Matt Dawson threw a reckless pass straight to Geoff Appleford who raced the length of the fielad to stretch his side’s advantage. In the closing minutes Justin Bishop raced in for his second try to seal a magnificent victory.

London Irish. Michael Horak; Paul Sackey, Geoff Appleford, Brendan Venter (Rob Hoadley 79), Justin Bishop; Barry Everitt, Hentie Martens (Darren Edwards 57); Mike Worsley, Naka Drotske (Richard Kirke 46), Rob Hardwick (Simon Halford 46);Ryan Strudwick (captain), Steve Williams (Glenn Delaney 72), Eddie Halvey, Declan Danaher,
Chris Sheasby.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Northampton Saints. Nick Beal; Craig Moir (James Brooks 40), Peter Jorgensen, John Leslie (Mark Tucker 75), Ben Cohen; Paul Grayson, Matt Dawson; Tom Smith, Steve Thompson (Dan Richmond 51), Mattie Stewart (Richard Morris 51);Johan Ackermann, Olivier Brouzet, Andrew Blowers, Budge Pountney (captain), Grant Seely (Andy Rennick 75),

Referee: Steve Lander