Jump to main content



Energia All-Ireland League Women’s Division: Round 16 Results Round-Up

Energia All-Ireland League Women’s Division: Round 16 Results Round-Up

Railway Union's Niamh Byrne is pictured in action against Galwegians last month ©Ronan Ryan

Captain Niamh Byrne touched down twice as second-placed Railway Union won at Ollie Campbell Park to move six points clear of Old Belvedere in the race to reach next month’s final at the Aviva Stadium.


Saturday, March 30 –

Scorers: Ballincollig: Try: Gemma Lane
Blackrock College: Tries: Maggie Boylan 3, Lisa Mullen, Orla Wafer, Hannah O’Connor, Catherine Martin; Cons: Hannah O’Connor 2; Pen: Lisa Mullen
HT: Ballincollig 5 Blackrock College 13

BALLINCOLLIG: Alison Kelly; Sinead O’Reilly, Michelle O’Driscoll, Kate O’Sullivan, Brighid Twohig; Kelly Griffin, Gemma Lane; Ciara Fleming, Aoife Fleming, Clare Coombes, Sarah O’Donovan, Laurileigh Baker, Meaghan Kenny, Shirley Bailey, Tiare Siguenza (capt).

Replacements: Sinead O’Donnell, Róisín Ormond, Alix Cunneen, Gillian Coombes, Miriam Murphy, Emma Connolly, Orla Maher.

BLACKROCK COLLEGE: Méabh Deely; Mya Alcorn, Anna Doyle, Catherine Martin, Clíodhna O’Sullivan; Lisa Mullen, Ann-Marie Rooney; Ava Fannin, Emily Whittle, Shannon Heapes (capt), Clíodhna Ní Chonchobhair, Nikki Gibson, Aoife Moore, Orla Wafer, Kate Jordan.

Replacements: Aibidh Ní Mháille, Manuela McCarthy, Hannah O’Connor, Maggie Boylan, Niamh Griffin, Shayne Richardson.

WICKLOW 29 COOKE 19, Ashtown Lane
Scorers: Wicklow: Tries: Robyn Johnston 2, Eimear Douglas, Lauren Barry; Cons: Beth Roberts 3; Pen: Beth Roberts
Cooke: Tries: Aishling O’Connell, Gemma McCamley, Tara O’Neill; Cons: Amanda Morton 2
HT: Wicklow 14 Cooke 7

WICKLOW: Alannah Dixon; Saoirse O’Reilly, Jennifer Madden, Nicole Humby, Robyn McCarthy; Robyn Johnston, Beth Roberts; Valerie Conyard, Eimear Douglas (co-capt), Lauren Barry, Laura Newsome, Jessica Griffey, Ciara Short, Nicola Schmidt, Caoimhe Molloy (co-capt).

Replacements: Noelle Ward, Linda Dempsey, Lara McElroy, Hannah Rose Buckley, Katherine Ward, Jessica Reynolds.

COOKE: Teah Maguire; Katie Gilmour, Tara O’Neill, Kelly McCormill, Tamzin Boyce; Amanda Morton, Georgia Boyce; Ella Garland, Megan Simpson, Aishling O’Connell, Ellen Patterson, Cara O’Kane, Emily Martin, Stacey Sloan, Gemma McCamley (capt).

Replacements: Eimear McQuillan, Ilse van Staden, Izzy Harris, Sorcha Mac Laimhin.

OLD BELVEDERE 18 RAILWAY UNION 34, Ollie Campbell Park
Scorers: Old Belvedere: Tries: Emma Tilly, Megan Edwards; Con: Jemma Farrell; Pens: Jemma Farrell 2
Railway Union: Tries: Aimee Clarke, Niamh Byrne 2, Faith Oviawe, Ailsa Hughes; Cons: Nikki Caughey 3; Pen: Nikki Caughey
HT: Old Belvedere 13 Railway Union 17

OLD BELVEDERE: Aine Donnelly; Megan Edwards, Éadaoin Murtagh, Jenny Murphy, Emma Tilly; Jemma Farrell, Jade Gaffney; Hannah Wilson, Lisa Callan, Katie Layde, Clodagh Dunne, Laura Sampson, Kara Mulcahy, Lesley Ring (capt), Katelynn Doran.

Replacements: Victoria Dabanovich O’Mahony, Hannah Rapley, Aine Rutley, Minnona Nunstedt, Vanessa Hullon, Aoife Rutley, Grace Tutty.

RAILWAY UNION: Ava Ryder; Rhiann Heery, Niamh Byrne (capt), Maddy Aberg, Aimee Clarke; Nikki Caughey, Ailsa Hughes; Grainne O’Loughlin, Meabh Keegan, Isobel Clerk, Keelin Brady, Faith Oviawe, Katie O’Dwyer, Molly Boyne, Lindsay Peat.

Replacements: Emily Gavin, Patricia Doyle, Salome Trauth, Claire Boles, Kayla Waldron, Sarah Browne, Claire Keohane.

SUTTONIANS 22 GALWEGIANS 19, JJ McDowell Memorial Grounds
Scorers: Suttonians: Tries: Lauren Farrell McCabe, Leomie Kloppers, Róisín O’Driscoll, Julia O’Connor; Con: Katelyn Faust
Galwegians: Tries: Emma O’Leary 2, Orla Dixon; Cons: Sinead O’Brien 2
HT: Suttonians 12 Galwegians 0

SUTTONIANS: Katelyn Faust; Brenda Barr (capt), Julia O’Connor, Shannon Touhey, Carrie O’Keeffe; Lauren Farrell McCabe, Rachael McIlroy; Ciara Spencer, Aoife Brennan, Róisín O’Driscoll, Grainne Tummon, Aislinn Layde, Nicola Bolger, Louise Catinot, Leomie Kloppers.

Replacements: Megan Cullen, Mary Healy, Jools Aungier, Ciara Twomey.

GALWEGIANS: Gemma Faulkner; Sarah O’Connell, Orla Dixon, Zorya Surguet, Evanna Finn; Emma Keane, Emma O’Leary; Ellen Connolly, Elizabeth McNicholas, Dearbhla Canty, Orla Fenton, Mollie Starr, Jane Neill, Nolwenn Dubois, Grace Browne Moran (capt).

Replacements: Stacy Hanley, Grace Fennell, Ruth Whittle, Cara Connolly, Lily Claffey Howard, Eve Tarpey, Sinead O’Brien.