Jump to main content



Henderson Returns To Ireland Squad And Loughman Gets First Call-up

Henderson Returns To Ireland Squad And Loughman Gets First Call-up

Iain Henderson is pictured breaking away from England's Kyle Sinckler during last season's Guinness Six Nations encounter ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The Ireland squad reassembled last night at Carton House following last week’s open training session at the Aviva Stadium and a number of players featuring for their provinces in the United Rugby Championship.

Iain Henderson returns to the squad having completed 80 minutes for Ulster against Cardiff at the weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jordan Larmour sustained a hip injury during Leinster’s game against Benetton and has been ruled out of the remainder of the 2022 Guinness Six Nations.

Jack Carty and Dave Heffernan (both Connacht), Craig Casey and Gavin Coombes (both Munster), and Robert Baloucoune, James Hume and Nick Timoney (all Ulster) all return to the Ireland squad having featured for their respective provinces.

Uncapped Munster loosehead Jeremy Loughman is called up to the national squad for the first time.

Ireland’s fourth round clash with England at Twickenham on Saturday kicks off at 4.45pm and will be televised by RTE (ROI) and ITV (NI).

IRELAND Squad (2022 Guinness Six Nations Round 4 v England):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

Backs (16):

Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 35
Robert Baloucoune (Enniskillen/Ulster) 2
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 30
Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 11
Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) 5
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 29
Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster) 15
Mack Hansen (Connacht) 3
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 55
James Hume (Banbridge/Ulster) 3
Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster) 18
James Lowe (Leinster) 10
Michael Lowry (Banbridge/Ulster) 1
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 94
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 40
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) (capt) 103

Forwards (19):

Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster) 8
Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 21
Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 28
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 25
Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/Munster) 2
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 15
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 55
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 114
Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht) 6
Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 66
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 24
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 46
Jeremy Loughman (Garryowen/Munster) *
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 82
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 42
Dan Sheehan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
Nick Timoney (Banbridge/Ulster) 2
Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) 4
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 38

* Denotes uncapped player