Jump to main content


Henderson Leads The Winners At Ulster Rugby Awards

Henderson Leads The Winners At Ulster Rugby Awards

Ulster's Iain Henderson wins a lineout during their European Challenge Cup semi-final clash with Leicester Tigers ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Ulster captain Iain Henderson was announced as the Heineken Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year at the virtual Heineken Ulster Rugby Awards, which took place online today.

The 29-year-old lock has had an exceptional season in both the white and green jerseys. He captained Ireland for the first time against France in the Guinness Six Nations earlier this year.

Henderson’s stellar performances for both Ulster and Ireland earned him a call-up to the 2021 British & Irish Lions squad to tour South Africa.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ulster second row Alan O’Connor scooped the Bank of Ireland Player of the Year award. His performances have drawn praise throughout the season from players and coaches alike for his leadership and consistency.

The 28-year-old has notched up over 1500 minutes of game-time across 23 games this season, which included making well over 200 tackles.

Scrum half John Cooney once again had an outstanding season, starting in 19 of Ulster’s games, scoring seven tries and kicking 137 points. This earned him the URSC Player of the Year accolade.

The Rugby Writers’ Player of the Year, Nick Timoney, has really come into his own this season, bringing a physical edge to his game, and adding to his remarkable pace.

The 25-year-old back rower and ex-Ireland Sevens international has been particularly dangerous over the ball, making 14 turnovers in the Guinness PRO14 and the Rainbow Cup.

The Openreach Young Player of the Year, James Hume has already racked up 41 appearances for the province, and has started 19 out of the 20 games he has featured in. The 22-year-old centre has been nominated for his consistency in both attack and defence during his 1509 minutes of rugby in 2020/21.

Ulster Branch President Gary Leslie commented: “I would like to offer my congratulations to all of this season’s nominees and winners. I’m delighted that we have been able to recognise some of the standout performers in the professional game in the province.

“Well done also to the four Ulster players – Billy Burns, Eric O’Sullivan, Brittany Hogan and Neve Jones – who made their Ireland senior debuts this season.

“Now, with the lifting of government restrictions, we are able to make a measured return to domestic rugby after a challenging year of no activity.

“It is my hope that we will be able to celebrate the best of both the domestic and professional game when awards season comes around next year.”


URSC Player of the Year 

John Cooney

Rugby Writers’ Player of the Year 

Nick Timoney

Openreach Young Player of the Year 

James Hume

Bank of Ireland Player of the Year 

Alan O’Connor

Heineken Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year

Iain Henderson