Jump to main content


Eddy Names Ireland Squads For Dubai Invitational Tournament

Eddy Names Ireland Squads For Dubai Invitational Tournament

Liam Turner

Ireland Under-20 international Liam Turner will feature for the Men's Development team in Dubai. ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry

IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy, has today named the Ireland Men’s and Women’s Sevens Development squads for this week’s Dubai Invitational Tournament.

Two 12-player squads depart Dublin for Dubai this morning to link up with the Ireland Men’s and Women’s Sevens sides, who are finalising their preparations for the first combined leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series season from December 5-7.

Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam winners Liam Turner, Iwan Hughes and Rob Russell are included in the Men’s Development panel, while Ulster Academy wing Aaron Sexton is joined by his provincial team-mate Graham Curtis on the trip.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paddy Patterson, who has featured in the Guinness PRO14 for Leinster, and Max O’Reilly complete the Leinster Academy contingent, with Connacht’s Hugh Lane also selected for the three-day tournament.

Ireland international Enya Breen, who recently featured for Adam Griggs’ side against Wales in the November Test at the UCD Bowl, has been named in the Women’s Development squad, which also includes Grace Moore and Soneva Scott, who have both come through the IQ Rugby system.

Anna McGann, Lucinda Kinghan and Dorothy Wall all have Sevens caps and will be hoping to impress Eddy and Ireland Women’s Head Coach Stan McDowell in Dubai ahead of the third Women’s World Series leg in Cape Town next week.

“The International Invitational Tournament is always a good competition as many Unions have their national development teams represented,” Eddy said.

It is a great opportunity for the players to be exposed to the quality competition and put their hand up for further representation with the World Series squads.

“Both squads have prepared well and will be looking for a good performance over the three days.”

Ireland Men’s Development open their campaign on Thursday against France Development (1pm local time, 9am Irish time), while Ireland Women’s Development are in action later that day against Japan Development (3.40pm local time/11.40am Irish time).

IRELAND MEN’S DEVELOPMENT SQUAD (Dubai Invitational 7s – Thursday, December 5 – Saturday, December 7):

Aaron Sexton (Malone/Ulster)
Iwan Hughes (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Max O’Reilly (DUFC/Leinster)
Cormac Izuchukwu (Old Wesley)
Graham Curtis (Malone/Ulster)
Liam Turner (DUFC/Leinster)
Paddy Patterson (UCD/Leinster)
Duran Krummeck (Irish Sevens)
Eanna Madden (Seapoint)
Ronan Kapi (IQ Rugby)
Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
Hugh Lane (Galwegians/Connacht).

IRELAND WOMEN’S DEVELOPMENT SQUAD (Dubai Invitational 7s – Thursday, December 5 – Saturday, December 7):

Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucinda Kinghan (DCU/Ulster)
Maeve Liston (Blackrock/Ulster)
Kate Farrell McCabe (DCU/Leinster)
Grace Moore (IQ Rugby)
Anna McGann (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Lucy Turkington (Dungannon/Ulster)
Leah Reilly (DCU/Leinster)
Soneva Scott (IQ Rugby)
Laura Sheehan (UL/Munster)
Dorothy Wall (Railway Union/Munster).


Thursday, December 5:

Ireland Men’s Development v France Development, 1pm local time/9am Irish time
Ireland Men’s Development v Samurai Zastava, 3.20pm local time/11.20am Irish time

Ireland Women’s Development v Japan Development, 3.40pm local time/11.40am Irish time.

Friday, December 6:

Ireland Women’s Development v Russia, 2.20pm local time/10.20am Irish time
Ireland Women’s Development v Phoenix Rugby 7s, 5.20pm local time/1.20pm Irish time.

Saturday, December 7:

Men’s and Women’s Play-Offs & Finals, TBC.