Jump to main content



Ireland Training Squad Announced For Rugby World Cup Pre-Season

The Ireland team huddle at the Aviva Stadium where they will play Italy and Wales in the GUINNESS Summer Series ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The Ireland team huddle at the Aviva Stadium where they will play Italy and Wales in the GUINNESS Summer Series ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

A 44-strong Ireland training squad has been announced for the upcoming Rugby World Cup pre-season and preparatory camps which commence in mid-June. The squad includes two uncapped players, Munster duo Mike Haley and Jean Kleyn.

Over the course of the pre-season period the squad will hold camps in Galway and Limerick as well as their usual base in Maynooth. Open sessions are planned for both the Sportsground in Galway and Thomond Park in Limerick. Details of the open sessions will be announced in due course.

Ireland will play at the Aviva Stadium in two GUINNESS Summer Series fixtures against Italy (Saturday, August 10) and Wales (Saturday, September 7). Tickets for these two games are available on ticketmaster.ie.

Ireland’s preparations for the Rugby World Cup in Japan will also include clashes with England at Twickenham (August 24) and Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff (August 31).

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt commented:

The provinces have done a great job throughout the season with all four of them being involved in two sets of play-offs. There were some very close calls in selection and it’s always a challenging process because the coaching group are very conscious of how hard the players work.

“It’s ideal that they get a good opportunity to relax for a few weeks before getting stuck into pre-season training and the busy GUINNESS Series in the lead up to the World Cup. Some players have missed out through injury and there are one or two guys that may be added into the squad at a later stage.”

IRELAND Training Squad (Rugby World Cup Pre-Season)

Backs (20) –

Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 18
Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 12
John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 8
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 77
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 5
Mike Haley (Munster) *
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 37
Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90
Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 13
Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 25
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 10
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 20
Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 3
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 83
Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19

Forwards (24) –

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 9
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt) 117
Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 5
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 14
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 68
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 14
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 88
Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster) 44
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 29
Jean Kleyn (Munster) *
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 54
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 27
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 14
Rhys Ruddock (Lansdowne/Leinster) 21
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 17
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 18
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 14
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 64
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17

Unavailable due to injury

Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

IRELAND 2019 Rugby World Cup Warm-Up Fixtures

GUINNESS Summer Series: IRELAND v Italy
Aviva Stadium, Saturday, August 10, kick-off 2pm
(Live on RTÉ & Channel 4) Buy Tickets Now 

England v IRELAND
Twickenham Stadium, Saturday, August 24, kick-off 3pm
(Live on Sky Sports)

Principality Stadium, Saturday, August 31, kick-off 2.30pm
(Live on Channel 4)

GUINNESS Summer Series: IRELAND v Wales
Aviva Stadium, Saturday, September 7, kick-off 2pm
(Live on RTÉ & Channel 4)Buy Tickets Now