Jump to main content


PWC logo

Hawkshaw To Captain Ireland Under-20s As Squad Is Announced

Hawkshaw To Captain Ireland Under-20s As Squad Is Announced

The Ireland Under-20 squad, sponsored by PwC, has been announced by head coach Noel McNamara ahead of the start of the 2019 Under-20 Six Nations Championship.

The 40-man Ireland Under-20 squad features five players who were capped across last season’s U-20 Six Nations and World Rugby U-20 Championship – hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin, second row Charlie Ryan, out-half Harry Byrne and wingers Angus Kernohan and James McCarthy.

Clontarf’s David Hawkshaw, who has played in the Celtic Cup and All-Ireland League this season, is named as the new Ireland Under-20 captain, with Ryan and scrum half Craig Casey, who have both skippered Ireland underage teams, named as vice-captains.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The selected panel includes three players who have played senior rugby for their provinces – Ulster’s Bruce Houston and Kernohan, and Leinster flanker Scott Penny. The latter scored tries against the Ospreys and the Dragons in the GUINNESS PRO14 and also lined out against Houston and Kernohan in the recent interprovincial derby between Leinster and Ulster.

Ireland U-20s at the squad announcement in PwC Ireland

Speaking at the squad announcement, McNamara said: “It’s always an exciting time when the Six Nations comes around and things have been building well since before Christmas. We had two good run-outs against Leinster and Munster Development sides where the players had the opportunity to put their hands up for selection for this squad.

“There’s a lot of talent in the playing group, and we’re looking forward to seeing these young men run out in the green jersey over the coming weeks.

“We also have a new home this season in Irish Independent Park, which is a great venue in Cork and I’m sure there will be a superb atmosphere when we welcome England and France under lights on Friday evenings.”

David McGee, Markets & Strategy Partner at PwC Ireland, added: “At PwC, we are excited to kick off this year’s Six Nations Championship as we enter our fourteenth year as sponsors of the Ireland U-20 squad. We are proud to support such a hard-working team.

“They embody our aim as a firm to think beyond the now and build a platform for the future. As the progression from the Under-20s to the full senior squad becomes more pronounced, we look forward to following the development of these players throughout this campaign.

“We take pride in our focus on developing talent to ensure the best results for our people, our clients and our business partners. We know that Irish Rugby shares the same approach.

Finally, I would like to wish the team the very best of luck in the upcoming Championship. I have no doubt they will do us proud.”

The Ireland Under-20s will get their campaign underway against England on Friday week at Irish Independent Park (kick-off 7.15pm), and their second fixture sees them travel to Netherdale outside Edinburgh to take on Scotland.

They are on the road again for their third round match against Italy in Rieti, before facing France back on the modified 3G pitch at Irish Independent Park. Their final game of the tournament is away to Wales on Friday, March 15 in Colwyn Bay.

Tickets for the Ireland Under-20s’ home fixtures in Irish Independent Park are available from www.ticketmaster.ie.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Squad (2019 Under-20 Six Nations Championship, February-March 2019):

Backs (19):

Harry Byrne (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) (vice-capt)
Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
Sean French (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
David Hawkshaw (Clontarf/Leinster) (capt)
Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
Bruce Houston (Ballymena/Ulster)
Iwan Hughes (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster) *
James McCarthy (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Stewart Moore (Malone/Ulster)
Oli Morris (Saracens/IQ Rugby)
Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster/IQ Rugby)
Conor Phillips (Young Munster/Munster)
Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Forwards (21):

Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)
Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
Giuseppe Coyne (Dublin University/Leinster)
Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
John Hodnett (UCC/Munster)
Paddy Kelly (Young Munster/Munster)
Ryan Lomas (Galwegians/Connacht)
Luke Masters (Shannon/Munster)
David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
JJ McKee (Ballymena/Ulster)
John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Scott Penny (UCD/Leinster)
Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) (vice-capt) *
Billy Scannell (Young Munster/Munster)
Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht) *
Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)

* Denotes previously capped player at Under-20 level


Friday, February 1:

IRELAND UNDER-20s v ENGLAND UNDER-20s, Irish Independent Park, Cork, 7.15pm (live on RTÉ Two)
Click here to buy your match ticket(s) from Ticketmaster.ie

Friday, February 8:

SCOTLAND UNDER-20s v IRELAND UNDER-20s, Netherdale, Gala RFC, Galashiels, 7.30pm (TV tbc)

Friday, February 22:

ITALY UNDER-20s v IRELAND UNDER-20s, Stadio Centro d’Italia – Manlio Scopigno, Rieti, 7pm local time/6pm Irish time (live www.facebook.com/federugby & www.youtube/fedrugby)

Friday, March 8:

IRELAND UNDER-20s v FRANCE UNDER-20s, Irish Independent Park, Cork, 7.15pm (live RTÉ Two)
Click here to buy your match ticket(s) from Ticketmaster.ie

Friday, March 15:

WALES UNDER-20s v IRELAND UNDER-20s, Zip World Stadium, Eirias Park, Colwyn Bay, 7.05pm (live RTÉ Two)