Jump to main content



Larmour Nominated For Breakthrough Player Of The Year Award

Larmour Nominated For Breakthrough Player Of The Year Award

21-year-old Ireland flyer Jordan Larmour is one of three players nominated for the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year award for 2018.

Three countries are represented in the nominees for World Rugby’s 2018 Breakthrough Player of the Year award, in association with Tudor. The nominees for this prestigious award, now in its fourth year, are South Africa winger Aphiwe Dyantyi, Ireland winger Jordan Larmour and New Zealand prop Karl Tu’inukuafe.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Larmour made his Ireland debut against Italy during last season’s Six Nations-title winning run, featured against Scotland and also in the Grand Slam-clinching win over England. The Leinster youngster went on to feature in all three games as Ireland won their summer series against Australia in June.

Jordan Larmour

The previous winners of the award are 2015 Rugby World Cup winner Nehe Milner-Skudder from New Zealand, England forward Maro Itoje and All Blacks winger Rieko Ioane.
To be eligible for this award, players must have played less than one year of senior international rugby, with former internationals Jamie Heaslip, Felipe Contepomi and Phaidra Knight sitting alongside members of the media on the panel that selects the shortlist.
The winner will be revealed at the World Rugby Awards, which take place at the Salle des Etoiles in Monte Carlo on Sunday, November 25.