Jump to main content


PWC logo

Munster Announce Eight Additions To Academy Squad

Munster Announce Eight Additions To Academy Squad

Eight players have been added to the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy panel ahead of the 2018/19 season.

The Year One recruits include Thomas Ahern (Waterpark), Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen), Jack Daly (Garryowen), Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey), James French (UCC), Sean French (PBC Cork), Eoghan Clarke (Wanderers) and Jonathan Wren (PBC Cork).

As the province’s pathway continues to produce players from across the clubs and schools, two of the new additions are products of the Munster Regional Development squads with Ahern (pictured below) from Dungarvan, Co. Waterford and Daly from Castleisland, Co. Kerry both selected.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Flanker Daly most recently made his Ireland Under-20 debut at the World Rugby U-20 Championship in France last month. He joins three fellow Ireland Under-20 representatives – Barron, James French and Clarke – in the latest intake.

As previously confirmed by Munster, three Academy players have already joined the senior ranks this summer with Calvin Nash, Liam O’Connor and Fineen Wycherley, the Academy Player of the Year for 2017/18, all promoted.


Year Three –

Gavin Coombes (Back Rower/Young Munster)
Shane Daly (Centre/Cork Constitution)
Sean O’Connor (Lock/Garryowen)

Year Two –

Craig Casey (Scrum Half/Shannon)
Liam Coombes (Back-Three/Garryowen)
Keynon Knox (Prop/UL Bohemians)
James McCarthy (Full-Back/UL Bohemians)
Alex McHenry (Centre/Cork Constitution)
Matt More (Centre/Garryowen)
Jack O’Sullivan (Back Rower/UCC)
Jack Stafford (Scrum Half/Shannon)
Alan Tynan (Full-Back/Young Munster)

Year One –

Thomas Ahern (Lock/Waterpark)
Diarmuid Barron (Hooker/Garryowen)
Jack Daly (Back Rower/Garryowen)
Ben Healy (Out-Half/Glenstal Abbey)
James French (Prop/UCC)
Sean French (Centre/PBC Cork)
Eoghan Clarke (Hooker/Wanderers)
Jonathan Wren (Back-Three/PBC Cork)