Jump to main content


Provincial Players Dominate PRO12’s Dream Team

Provincial Players Dominate PRO12’s Dream Team

Ahead of the GUINNESS PRO12 Awards this Sunday in Dublin, the Dream Team for the 2016/17 season has been revealed. Eleven provinicial players have been included, including six across the back-line.

Rory Sheridan, Head of Sponsorship for Diageo Europe, was Chairman of the media panel, which comprised of journalists and broadcasters from across Italy, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, who voted for the PRO12 Dream Team.

Munster lead the way with six players, while Ulster, Leinster and the Scarlets see two players each make the team. Edinburgh, Connacht and Glasgow Warriors each have one player selected.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article


15. Tiernan O’Halloran (Connacht)
Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Jaco Taute (Munster)
12. Rory Scannell (Munster)
11. Charles Piutau (Ulster)
10. Tyler Bleyendaal (Munster)
9. Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)

1. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)
Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. John Ryan (Munster)
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
5. Billy Holland (Munster)
6. Dan Leavy (Leinster)
James Davies (Scarlets)
8. Jack Conan (Leinster)

Dream Team eligibility: At least 10 appearances in this season’s PRO12 Championship
The GUINNESS PRO12 Awards will take place at the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin on Sunday night. The following awards will be presented:

– Specsavers Fair Play award
– Top Try Scorer
– Rhino Golden Boot
– Young Player of the Season
– Independent.ie Try of the Season
– Dream Team captain
– Coach of the Season
– GUINNESS PRO12 Players’ Player of the Season
– GUINNESS PRO12 Chairman’s award