Jump to main content


McCloskey, Gilroy And Diack To Start For Ulster

McCloskey, Gilroy And Diack To Start For Ulster

Director of rugby Les Kiss has named the Ulster team that will travel to the Ospreys in round 21 of the GUINNESS PRO12 on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 3pm).

The starting XV shows just three personnel changes as the Ulstermen travel to Swansea knowing that their PRO12 play-off destiny still remains in their own hands with two regular season games remaining.
Ireland centre Stuart McCloskey, who returned from a three-month injury lay-off with an impressive second half cameo against Munster a fortnight ago, is drafted into the side where he will partner Luke Marshall in midfield.
The other back-line change sees fellow Ireland international Craig Gilroy brought in at full-back where he will form an explosive back-three partnership with Charles Piutau and captain Andrew Trimble. Experienced half-backs Ruan Pienaar and Paddy Jackson remain in place.
Robbie Diack is the sole change in the pack as he slots in at number 8 where he will be flanked by Iain Henderson and Sean Reidy. Kieran Treadwell and Alan O’Connor will continue their second row partnership for the fifth game in a row, while front rowers Andrew Warwick, Rory Best and Wiehahn Herbst are also retained.
Paul Marshall, Stuart Olding
and Jacob Stockdale provide strong back-line options from the bench, while the forwards are also well backed up by Rob Herring, Callum Black, Rodney Ah You, Franco van der Merwe and Nick Timoney.

ULSTER (v Ospreys): Craig Gilroy; Andrew Trimble (capt), Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Charles Piutau; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Andrew Warwick, Rory Best, Wiehahn Herbst, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson, Sean Reidy, Robbie Diack.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Replacements: Rob Herring, Callum Black, Rodney Ah You, Franco van der Merwe, Nick Timoney, Paul Marshall, Stuart Olding, Jacob Stockdale.