Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Revealed For International Series

Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Revealed For International Series

The Ireland Under-18 Schools squad, sponsored by PwC, has been confirmed for the Under-18 International Series which will take place in Wales over the Easter holidays.

The competition, which features Ireland, England, Italy, Scotland, Canada and Wales, takes place in Cardiff, Caerphilly and Llanelli. Ireland will play Italy, England and hosts Wales on Saturday, April 8, Wednesday, April 12 and Sunday, April 16 respectively.
Noel McNamara’s selected side features several players whose older siblings have represented Ireland across a range of levels. St. Michael’s College pair Harry Byrne and David Ryan have seen their brothers line out for Ireland at Under-20 level.

Harry’s brother Ross played at out-half during the 2014/15 season and has been regularly involved with the Leinster senior team this season, while David’s brother James captained the Ireland Under-20 side to the final of the World Rugby U-20 Championship in Manchester last summer.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Josh Wycherley is brother of current Ireland Under-20 second row Fineen, and Billy Scannell has two older brothers in Rory and Niall who have worn the green of Ireland.

Rory has represented Ireland at Under-20 level, won the Tbilisi Cup with Emerging Ireland in 2015 and was part of the Ireland senior squad this season, while hooker Niall won his first senior cap against Italy during the recent RBS 6 Nations Championship.

The Ireland U-18 Schools squad contains 12 players from Leinster schools, nine from Munster, four from Ulster and one from Connacht, and features Munster Schools Senior Cup winners Sean French, Jonathan Wren and Scannell from Presentation Brothers College, Cork.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Squad (Under-18 International Series, Wales, Saturday, April 8-Sunday, April 16):

Azur Allison (Ballymena Academy/Ulster)
Ryan Baird (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Eoin Barr (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
Harry Byrne (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Craig Casey (Ard Scoil Ris/Munster) (capt)
Thomas Clarkson (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Fintan Coleman (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)
Cormac Foley (St. Gerard’s School/Leinster)
Sean French (PBC Cork/Munster)
Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey/Munster)
Cian Hurley (CBC Cork/Munster)
Darragh Kelly (St. Fintan’s School/Leinster)
Angus Kernohan (Ballymena Academy/Ulster)
Luke Masters (CBC Cork/Munster)
Niall McEniff (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
John McKee (Campbell College/Ulster)
Martin Moloney (Knockbeg College/Leinster)
Stewart Moore (Ballymena Academy/Ulster)
Niall Murray (St. Aloysius College/Connacht)
Dan O’Donovan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Scott Penny (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) (vice-capt)
David Ryan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Billy Scannell (PBC Cork/Munster)
Liam Turner (Blackrock College/ Leinster)
Jonathan Wren (PBC Cork/Munster)
Josh Wycherley (CC Roscrea/Munster)

Ireland Under-18 Schools v Italy Under-18s, BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff, Saturday, April 8, 6pm
Ireland Under-18 Schools v England Under-18s, Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli, Wednesday, April 12, 5.15pm
Ireland Under-18 Schools v Wales Under-18s, CCB Centre of Sporting Excellence, Caerphilly, Sunday, April 16,. 4.15pm

Tickets will be available on the gate at each venue. They will priced at £5 for adults (free for under-16s), for which supporters will be able to watch all three games on the day. Re-entry not permitted.

Head Coach – Noel McNamara
Team Manager – John McKinney
Assistant Coach – Colm McMahon
Scrum Coach – Bryan Young
Fitness Coach – Michael Lawlor
Baggage Master – Mo Dempsey
Team Analyst – Brett Igoe
Team Doctor – John Ryan
Team Physio – David Lyons
Team Services – Amanda Craig