Jump to main content


Seven Academy Players Earn Leinster Senior Contracts

Seven Academy Players Earn Leinster Senior Contracts

Ahead of next season, Leinster Rugby and the IRFU have confirmed that seven members of the Leinster Academy have been awarded senior contracts with the province.

Ross Byrne, Joey Carbery, Nick McCarthy, Rory O’Loughlin, Andrew Porter, James Ryan and Peadar Timmins who are stepping up to Leinster senior deals.

Between them, they have played 55 times for Leinster in the Champions Cup and GUINNESS PRO12 this season, contributing 15 tries and 142 points in the process.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Commenting on the news, Leinster head coach Leo Cullen said: “We invest a huge amount of time and resources into our Academy system in Leinster and we very much see these players and this model as the future of this province. I am excited by the challenge that lies ahead of them as they look to kick on in their careers.”

Cullen also reflected on the journey to this point for the players and how big a day this was for those that had supported them along the way.

“They have been performing well over the last few seasons with their clubs in the Ulster Bank League or with Leinster A in the British & Irish Cup, but we have also seen them perform on a daily basis in training and at the very highest level with Leinster and Ireland.

“From Nick playing against Toulon in the Champions Cup in the Aviva Stadium, to Joey playing his part in the historic victory over New Zealand in Chicago, to Peadar making his first senior start at the weekend, to James captaining Ireland to their place in an Under-20 World Championship final. They have taken it all in their stride.

“Huge credit must go to their clubs, their schools, to the Leinster Academy staff, led by Peter Smyth, and the domestic rugby team that spend so much time in the development of these players but today is about the seven players and I am delighted for them and their families.”


Ross Byrne 
DOB: April 8, 1995
Club: UCD
Honours: 17 Leinster caps (54 points)

Joey Carbery
DOB: November 1, 1995
Club: Clontarf
Honours: 14 Leinster caps (43 points) & 3 Ireland caps

Nick McCarthy
DOB: March 25, 1995
Club: UCD
Honours: 3 Leinster caps

Rory O’Loughlin
DOB: January 21, 1994
Club: Old Belvedere
Honours: 16 Leinster caps (40 points)

Andrew Porter
DOB: January 16, 1996
Club: UCD
Honours: 7 Leinster caps (5 points)

James Ryan
DOB: July 24, 1996
Club: UCD
Honours: James captained Ireland to the final of the 2016 World Rugby Under-20 Championship

Peadar Timmins
DOB: January 8, 1994
Club: UCD
Honours: 6 Leinster caps