Jump to main content


Nash To Make Senior Debut For Munster

Nash To Make Senior Debut For Munster

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has named his team for Friday night’s rescheduled GUINNESS PRO12 game against Edinburgh at Myreside (kick-off 7.35pm).

A much-changed Munster side has been named for the PRO12 encounter with no less than 11 changes compared to the starting XV from the Champions Cup pool win over Racing 92 at Thomond Park less than a fortnight ago.

With four changes to the back-line, the 19-year-old Calvin Nash, in his first year of the Academy, will make his debut on the right wing after a string of impressive performances with Munster ‘A’ and his club side Young Munster. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Nash’s fellow Academy player and Cookies club-mate Dan Goggin renews his centre partnership with Francis Saili after the pair last started against Connacht in December.

Duncan Williams is introduced again at scrum half, joining number 10 Tyler Bleyendaal who will captain the province for the first time, while another first sees Jaco Taute make the positional switch from centre to full-back.

In the forwards, lock Jean Kleyn is the only player to retain his place this week. The big South African is joined in the engine room by Dave Foley who has overcome a wrist injury to start.

In an all-new front row, Peter McCabe will make his first start for Munster alongside hooker Rhys Marshall and tighthead prop Stephen Archer on his 100th PRO12 appearance. Following an injury to James Cronin, McCabe returned to the province after a short loan spell with Connacht.

Similarly, there is a new-look back row for the clash with the Scottish club as Dave O’Callaghan, the Academy’s Conor Oliver and Jack O’Donoghue combine in a youthful trio.

Returning from Ireland camp this week, Dave Kilcoyne, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell and Rory Scannell have all been named in the replacements for the trip to Edinburgh.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Jaco Taute; Calvin Nash, Francis Saili, Dan Goggin; Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Duncan Williams; Peter McCabe, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Dave Foley, Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O’Donoghue. 

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Angus Lloyd, Rory Scannell.