Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Richmond Game

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Richmond Game

After their Captain’s Run this morning, the Leinster ‘A’ team to face Richmond in Friday’s British & Irish Cup encounter at Donnybrook (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Despite losing out last week away to Nottingham, Leinster ‘A’ go into the game against Richmond knowing a bonus point win could be enough to secure a place in the quarter-finals of the B&I Cup.

For that to happen Nottingham would have to lose their match away to Scarlets Premiership Select on Saturday (kick-off 2pm). Leinster ‘A’ would also need one of Yorkshire Carnegie and Cornish Pirates to lose their final pool match as well.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cornish Pirates are at home to Connacht Eagles on Saturday (kick-off 2pm), while Yorkshire Carnegie face Pool 5 leaders Ealing Trailfinders at the same time.

In the event that a bonus point win is claimed st Donnybrook and other results go their way, Leinster ‘A’ would move into the last-eight of the competition, with the reward likely to be a trip to face either London Irish or Ealing in the knockout stages.

There are five changes to the Leinster ‘A’ side that lost 28-24 away to Nottingham last week. David Aspil comes into the back row to replace Dominic Ryan, with Mick Kearney partnering Ian Nagle in the second row in place of David O’Connor.

Bryan Byrne retains his place in the front row, but will be flanked by Peter Dooley at loosehead prop and Jeremy Loughman at tighthead against Richmond. Charlie Rock starts at scrum half in place of Nick McCarthy, who is named on the bench, in the only change to the province’s back line.

Leinster ‘A’ v Richmond tickets will be available on the gate from €;10 for adults and €;5 for under-18s.
Season Ticket holders can enter for free when they show their 2016/17 Season Ticket card at the gate.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Richmond): Billy Dardis; Hugo Keenan, Jimmy O’Brien, Tom Daly, Barry Daly; Cathal Marsh, Charlie Rock; Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, Mick Kearney, Ian Nagle, Peadar Timmins (capt), David Aspil, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Sean McNulty, Ed Byrne, Oisin Heffernan, Paul Boyle, Nick McCarthy, Ciaran Frawley, Jordan Larmour.