Jump to main content


Arnold And Marshall To Make First Starts For Munster

Arnold And Marshall To Make First Starts For Munster

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has rung the changes for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 encounter with Benetton Treviso at Thomond Park (kick-off 2pm). Tommy O’Donnell continues as captain with seven changes made to the side that defeated the Maori All Blacks.

Among the returning international contingent for the round 9 clash are Dave KilcoyneJohn RyanJack O’Donoghue and Billy Holland.

Dave Foley and Sam Arnold have overcome their respective elbow and knee injuries to take their places in the starting line-up with the latter making his competitive debut for Munster.

Named amongst the replacements, prop Thomas du Toit and scrum half Angus Lloyd are included in their first Munster matchday squad with Jean Kleyn also on bench duty after successfully rehabbing an ankle injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

An all-new front row sees Kilcoyne and Ryan start either side of Kiwi hooker Rhys Marshall who makes his first start in the red jersey.

In the second row Foley returns to partner Darren O’Shea in the PRO12 for the first time, while in the back row, skipper Tommy O’Donnell reverts to openside flanker, O’Donoghue comes in at blindside and Robin Copeland continues at number 8. O’Donnell draws ever closer to a century of appearances in the Championship and will make his 99th PRO12 appearance this weekend.

Duncan Williams and Tyler Bleyendaal resume their partnership in the half-backs, with another new pairing seen in midfield where 20-year-old debutant Arnold starts alongside South African Jaco Taute.

There are no further changes to the province’s selected team as Ronan O’MahonyDarren Sweetnam and full-back Andrew Conway again form the back-three.

Munster v Benetton Treviso tickets can be purchased online here, at the ground on Saturday, or from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park (061-421103).

MUNSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Jaco Taute, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Darren O’Shea, Jack O’Donoghue, Tommy O’Donnell (capt), Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Thomas du Toit, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Angus Lloyd, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.