Jump to main content


PWC logo

Daly, O’Brien And O’Connor Among The Munster Academy Newcomers

Daly, O’Brien And O’Connor Among The Munster Academy Newcomers

With pre-season now underway, seven new recruits have so far been added to the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy for the 2016/17 season. Ireland Under-20 players Shane Daly, Vincent O’Brien and Sean O’Connor are included in the new intake.

Shane Daly, Vincent O’Brien and Sean O’Connor, who played their part in securing Ireland’s best ever finish of second at the World Rugby Under-20 Championship, will be joined by Gavin Coombes, John Foley, Calvin Nash and Fineen Wycherley.

As previously confirmed, five of the current Academy group are advancing to senior Munster development contracts for 2016/17 – David Johnston, John Madigan, Sean McCarthy, Rory Scannell and Alex Wootton – while Gearoid Lyons and Jack Cullen have secured professional contracts with Nottingham and London Scottish respectively.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Fellow third year players Rory Burke (pictured above) and Greg O’Shea have had their time in the Academy extended by one year after a series of injuries hampered their development.

Shannon’s Niall Horan and Cork Constitution’s Ryan Foley, Darragh Moloney and Tomas Quinlan have all completed their time with the programme.

As with previous seasons, should there be any further additions to the Academy, these will be announced in due course.


YEAR 3 – Rory Burke (Prop/Cork Constitution), Greg O’Shea (Winger/Shannon), Stephen Fitzgerald (Full-Back/Shannon), Dan Goggin (Centre/Young Munster), Brian Scott (Prop/Dolphin)

YEAR 2 – Ned Hodson (Centre/Cork Constitution), Bill Johnston (Out-Half/Garryowen), Ben Kilkenny (Back Rower/Young Munster), Ollie Lyons (Back Rowe/Shannon), Steven McMahon (Winger/Garryowen), Liam O’Connor (Prop/Cork Constitution), Conor Oliver (Back Rower/Garryowen), JP Phelan (Prop/Garryowen)

YEAR 1 – Gavin Coombes (Back Rower/Bandon Grammar), Shane Daly (Centre/Cork Constitution), John Foley (Back Rower/Shannon), Calvin Nash (Centre/Crescent College Comprehensive), Vincent O’Brien (Hooker/Cork Constitution), Sean O’Connor (Lock/Cashel), Fineen Wycherley (Lock/Roscrea CC)