Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20s Unchanged For World Final

Ireland Under-20s Unchanged For World Final

The Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PwC) has been named for Saturday’s World Rugby U-20 Championship final clash with hosts England at the AJ Bell Stadium in Salford (kick-off 7pm).

Head coach Nigel Carolan has retained the same matchday 23 from last Monday’s 37-7 semi-final victory over Argentina at the Manchester City Academy Stadium.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The in-form front row is made up of Andrew Porter, Adam McBurney and Ben Betts, with captain James Ryan partnered in the second row by Sean O’Connor.

Max Deegan, who has been nominated for the Player of the Tournament award (voting details here), starts at number 8, while flankers David Aspil and Greg Jones continue either side of him.

Stephen Kerins and Johnny McPhillips, who has amassed 41 points in his last three outings, will direct operations from half-back. The pair will have the strong-running Conor O’Brien and Shane Daly outside them at centre.

Ulster’s Jacob Stockdale, who has scored four tries so far in the tournament, will start at full-back with Matthew Byrne and Hugo Keenan on the wings. Keenan and blindside Jones have been ever-present in the Irish starting line-up from the pool stages through to this weekend’s decider.

Speaking ahead of Ireland’s first final appearance at U-20 level, Carolan said: “When this group of players came together for the U-20 Six Nations earlier this year, they showed a willingness and a desire to learn and grow together as a group. They have put in the hard work on and off the field this season and their reward for that is tomorrow evening’s final against England.

“All the players came through the game against Argentina on Monday and we have had a good few days of preparation, so I think everyone is now just looking forward to getting the game underway tomorrow.”

The Under-20 final between England and Ireland will be broadcast live on TG4 and Sky Sports 1 HD. New Zealand’s Paul Williams will referee the game.

World Rugby Under-20 Championship – Ticket Information

World Rugby Under-20 Championship Fixtures/Results

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2016 World Rugby Under-20 Championship Final, AJ Bell Stadium, Salford, Saturday, June 25, kick-off 7pm):

15. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
14. Matthew Byrne (Terenure College/Leinster)
13. Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster)
12. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
11. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)
10. Johnny McPhillips (Queen’s University/Ulster)
9. Stephen Kerins (Sligo/Connacht)
1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
2. Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
3. Ben Betts (Young Munster/Munster)
4. Sean O’Connor (Cashel/Munster)
5. James Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)
6. Greg Jones (UCD/Leinster)
7. David Aspil (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster)


16. Vincent O’Brien (Cork Constitution/Munster)
17. James Bollard (Dublin University/Leinster)
18. Adam Coyle (Naas/Leinster)
19. Evan Mintern (Cork Constitution/Munster)
20. Kelvin Brown (Shannon/Munster)
21. Niall Saunders (Harlequins/Exiles)
22. Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles)
23. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)


Pool A –

Wales 25 IRELAND 26
Manchester City Academy Stadium

New Zealand 24 IRELAND 33
Manchester City Academy Stadium

IRELAND 35 Georgia 7
Manchester City Academy Stadium
Wednesday, June 15, 5.30pm

Semi-Final –

IRELAND 37 Argentina 7
Manchester City Academy Stadium
Monday, June 20

Final –

England v IRELAND
AJ Bell Stadium, Salford
Saturday, June 25, 7pm