Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For B&I Cup Quarter-Final

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For B&I Cup Quarter-Final

The Leinster ‘A’ team for Saturday’s British & Irish Cup quarter-final against London Welsh at Donnybrook (kick-off 7pm) has been named.

There are eight changes to the side that defeated Rotherham Titans 43-24 in the final round of pool games. Tickets for Leinster ‘A’ v London Welsh are available to buy here. You can pay on the gate from 5.30pm on Saturday night, while Leinster Rugby Season Ticket holders have free admission with a valid Season Ticket card.

There is one change in the back-three as Adam Byrne comes in to replace Mick McGrath who moves to the bench. Byrne has been in try-scoring form in recent weeks in the GUINNESS PRO12 with his first senior try against Zebre at the RDS followed up by another score against same opposition two weeks later in Parma.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cian Kelleher will start on the left wing, while Billy Dardis is retained at full-back. Colm O’Shea and Tom Daly have been selected as the province’s starting centre pairing for the first time since the ‘A’ team’s win away to Ealing Trailfinders back in December.

Nick McCarthy starts on Saturday after bagging a try last time out against the Titans. Joey Carbery is named at out-half, with Ross Byrne named on the bench.

There is one alteration in the front row with Michael Bent coming in to start in place of Oisin Heffernan who is named among the replacements. In the second row, Tadhg Beirne returns to the starting line-up to partner David O’Connor.

Peadar Timmins will captain the side, starting at blindside flanker, with Tony Ryan and David Aspil, from the Leinster Under-20s, also selected in the back row.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v London Welsh): Billy Dardis; Adam Byrne, Colm O’Shea, Tom Daly, Cian Kelleher; Joey Carbery, Nick McCarthy; Jeremy Loughman, Bryan Byrne, Michael Bent, Tadhg Beirne, David O’Connor, Peadar Timmins (capt), David Aspil, Tony Ryan.

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Oisin Heffernan, Ciaran Ruddock, Charlie Cregan, Charlie Rock, Ross Byrne, Mick McGrath.