Jump to main content


Leinster Confirm 17 Contracts Renewals And Two New Signings

Leinster Confirm 17 Contracts Renewals And Two New Signings

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has this afternoon confirmed that 17 players have signed new IRFU contracts with the province for 2016/17 and beyond, while a further two players have been added to the Leinster squad.

While the central contract for Sean O’Brien had already been announced, it was confirmed today that Ireland international Robbie Henshaw will be joining Leinster from Connacht as will former Munster lock Ian Nagle who played on 29 occasions for his home rovince.

Speaking to leinsterrugby.ie, Leo Cullen outlined what Leinster supporters can expect from the two new signings.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We are delighted to have secured Robbie’s signature for the next three seasons. Robbie is a huge talent and we have all seen that over the last few weeks and months with Ireland in the Six Nations and during the World Cup.

“We look forward to welcoming him into Leinster when this season is over and I am sure that our supporters would echo that view.

“It is well documented at this stage that Ian took a sabbatical from rugby at the end of the 2013/14 season to pursue educational opportunities most recently at Cambridge University. He has however made a return to rugby with London Irish and was involved last weekend in their win against Worcester.

“He is also relatively young at 27 and I think he will add even more experience and competition to an already competitive second row roster.”

Cullen also spoke about the recruitment process to date and the players confirmed for next season, adding: “By and large we are very happy with where we are at. It is fantastic to see so many talented players commit their futures to Leinster Rugby and I think the supporters will be hugely excited as we continue to build our squad for the 2016/17 season and beyond.”


Contract Renewals:

Michael Bent
Adam Byrne
Tom Daly
Peter Dooley
Tadhg Furlong
Dave Kearney
Cathal Marsh
Mike McCarthy
Jack McGrath
Ross Molony
Isa Nacewa
Sean O’Brien
Garry Ringrose
Mike Ross
Rhys Ruddock
James Tracy
Josh van der Flier

New Signings:

Robbie Henshaw
Ian Nagle