Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Wales Team Named For Dublin Date

Wales Team Named For Dublin Date

Alun Wyn Jones will lead Wales against Ireland in Dublin on Saturday in a side that sees Exeter Chiefs prop Tomas Francis make his international debut and George North reach the milestone of his 50th Wales cap.

Tomas Francis (23) will pack down in an experienced Wales team with Gethin Jenkins and Ken Owens joining him in the front row. Bradley Davies slots in alongside captain Alun Wyn Jones in the second-row.

British & Irish Lions trio Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau make up the back row unit.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ospreys duo Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar continue their half-back partnership with Jamie Roberts and Scott Williams paired together midfield. George North, Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny complete the back-line.

“The squad are looking forward to travelling over to Ireland for what is a big warm-up fixture,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“We have trained well over the past few weeks and Saturday is a chance for a lot of players to get their first taste of rugby this campaign. We trimmed the squad down in the middle of August and the remaining 38 have worked extremely hard.

“It’s always a great game in Dublin and there is an important factor to this match, with the Rugby World Cup squad announced just a few days later.”

Ospreys trio Scott Baldwin, Paul James and Aaron Jarvis are named as front row replacements. They will be joined on the bench by Luke Charteris, James King. Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland and Hallam Amos.

WALES Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2015 GUINNESS Summer Series, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, August 29, kick-off 2.30pm):

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues)
13. Scott Williams (Scarlets)
12. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins)
11. George North (Northampton Saints)
10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
9. Rhys Webb (Ospreys)
1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) *
4. Bradley Davies (Wasps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (capt)
6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)


16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)
17. Paul James (Ospreys)
18. Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys)
19. Luke Charteris (Racing 92)
20. James King (Ospreys)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22. Rhys Priestland (Scarlets)
23. Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons)

* Denotes uncapped player