Jump to main content


Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad Named For European Division B Tournament

Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad Named For European Division B Tournament

The Ireland Men’s Sevens squad to take part in the Rugby Europe Men’s Division B tournament in Zagreb, Croatia this weekend has been named.

Ireland will compete in Pool B on Saturday alongside Slovenia, Bulgaria and Austria, with the knockout stages taking place on Sunday.

There are two changes to the squad that won the Division C competition in Zenica recently. Lansdowne winger Ian Fitzpatrick and Terry Kennedy from St. Mary’s College come in for Cian Aherne and Michael Lawton.
The highest ranked eligible team from Division B qualifies to participate in the Rugby Europe Olympic Repechage tournament which will take place in Lisbon on July 18-19.
The winners of the Lisbon event will then have the opportunity to compete in the World Olympic Repechage in 2016 to secure the last spot for Rio 2016.
Speaking ahead of the Division B matches, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens, said: “This competition is key to the Olympic pathway but also serves as a stepping stone to promotion to the Division A competition in 2016.
“As a squad, we are developing well but we need to go out and perform to the best of our ability again this weekend to progress.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The tournament from Zagreb will be streamed live here throughout the weekend.

Check out www.irishrugby.ie/sevens for all the latest Men’s and Women’s Sevens news.

IRELAND MEN’S SEVENS Squad (Rugby Europe Men’s Division B, Stadion NSC Stjepan Spajic, Zagreb, Croatia, June 20-21):
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne/Leinster) 
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 
Shane Layden (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
Diarmaid McCarthy (Young Munster/Munster)
David McGuigan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Harry McNulty (UCD/Leinster) 
Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster)  
Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)

Rugby Europe Men’s Division B Pools –

Pool A: Croatia, Slovakia, Greece, Malta
Pool B: Bulgaria, Slovenia, Ireland, Austria
Pool C: Switzerland, Norway, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Serbia

Rugby Europe Men’s Division B Match Schedule –

Saturday, June 20:

Pool B –


Slovenia v Ireland, 11.28am local time/10.28am Irish time
Bulgaria v Ireland, 1.22pm local time/12.22pm Irish time
Ireland v Austria, 4.22pm local time/3.22pm Irish time

Sunday, June 21: