Jump to main content


Ireland XV Named For Barbarians Match

Ireland XV Named For Barbarians Match

The Ireland XV to play the Barbarians at Thomond Park on Thursday night (kick-off 7.45pm) has been named. Jamie Heaslip will captain the side that contains two uncapped players in the starting line-up and a further three among the replacements.

Clontarf’s Colm O’Shea will start in the centre alongside Luke Marshall, who last played for Ireland against Argentina on the 2014 summer tour.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rob Kearney, Dave Kearney and Craig Gilroy make up the back-three, while Leinster duo Eoin Reddan and Ian Madigan are the starting half-backs.

Up front, the uncapped Tadhg Furlong will pack down alongside his provincial colleagues Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath. Dan Tuohy partners Devin Toner in the second row.

Chris Henry (pictured below) will make a welcome return to the green jersey in the back row with Robbie Diack and captain Jamie Heaslip completing the pack.

Ben Marshall, who has just signed for Connacht, Luke McGrath and Ulster Bank League Division 1A Rising Star of the Year winner, Cian Kelleher, are the three uncapped players on the bench.

The match kicks off at 7.45pm on Thursday with tickets available online from Ticketmaster.ie and at usual outlets at Thomond Park.

IRELAND XV Team & Replacements (v Barbarians, Thomond Park, Limerick, Thursday, May 28, kick-off 7.45pm):

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
13. Colm O’Shea (Clontarf/Leinster) *
12. Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
11. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) *
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
6. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)
7. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (capt)

16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
17. Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)
18. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
19. Ben Marshall (Old Belvedere/Connacht) *
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) *
22. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
23. Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) *

* Denotes uncapped player at international level