Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-20 Squad Named For World Rugby Championship

Ireland U-20 Squad Named For World Rugby Championship

The Ireland Under-20 squad, sponsored by PwC, has been announced for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship. The tournament is taking place in Italy from June 2 to 20.

Ireland Under-20 head coach Nigel Carolan, has named a squad of 28 with just two players who were not involved in this year’s U-20 RBS 6 Nations included.

Sean McNulty, who played in the 2014 U-20 RBS 6 Nations, comes back into the panel having recovered from injury and is joined by the uncapped Charlie Rock.
Eight of the squad have previous Under-20 Championship experience (previously known as the Junior World Championship) having played in last year’s tournament in New Zealand where Ireland finished fourth overall – Ross Byrne, Billy Dardis, Ciaran Gaffney, Oisin Heffernan, Nick McCarthy, Rory Moloney, Josh Murphy and Garry Ringrose.
Ireland are in Pool C with Argentina, Scotland and New Zealand for June’s competition. Carolan’s youngsters open their tournament against Argentina in Parma on Tuesday, June 2.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND UNDER-20 Squad (2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship, Italy, June 2-20):

Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
Fergal Cleary (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)
Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
Jeremy Loughman (UCD/Leinster)
Zack McCall (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)
Sean McNulty (UCD/Munster)
Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
Conán O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
David O’Connor (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Conor Oliver (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
Jack Owens (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Jacob Stockdale (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Alex Thompson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
* Denotes uncapped player at Under-20 international level


POOL A – England, France, Wales, Japan
POOL B – South Africa, Australia, Samoa, Italy
POOL C – New Zealand, IRELAND, Argentina, Scotland

Tournament Ticketing Details

Tuesday, June 2: Ireland Under-20s v Argentina Under-20s, Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time

Saturday, June 6: Ireland Under-20s v Scotland Under-20s, Stadio San Michele, Calvisano, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time

Wednesday, June 10: New Zealand Under-20s v Ireland Under-20s, Stadio Luigi Zaffanella, Viadana, kick-off 8.30pm local time/7.30pm Irish time
Matchday 4: Play-offs and semi-finals, Monday, June 15

Matchday 5: Play-offs and final, Saturday, June 20