Jump to main content



RBS 6 Nations Unveil Brand New Trophy

RBS 6 Nations Unveil Brand New Trophy

The winners of 2015 RBS 6 Nations Championship will lift a brand new trophy on March 21. Designed and crafted by world-renowned silversmiths Thomas Lyte, this is only the second trophy since 1883 to be created for rugby’s greatest Championship.

The new RBS 6 Nations trophy will replace the 1993 edition, which is being retired as it represented the nations that took part in the pre-Millennium Five Nations Championship.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The year 2000 marked the start of the Six Nations Championship, with the addition of Italy to England, France, Ireland, Scotland and Wales and the new trophy is the first to truly represent all six participating nations in the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

The new trophy encompasses both the distinctive history of the tournament and its exciting future. This new design keeps a vital element of the history of the Championship by transferring the names of past winners onto the band of the plinth, with space for future winners.

This trophy is crafted from over 50 pieces. Hand spun from Sterling 925 Silver, the trophy underwent the process of casting, spinning, hand engraving and polishing.

The body of the trophy is crafted from a single sheet of Sterling Silver, with the six-sided shape representing each competing nation with each nation’s crest, as well as the year they joined the Championship engraved on the plinth.

The new trophy is made from 7kg of silver, stands at 75cm high and is adorned with a gold-plated ‘6’ in both handles and a rugby ball and crown device on the lid finial. Over 200 craft hours have been used to make this stunning trophy.

John Feehan, Chief Executive of Six Nations Rugby, said: “We are delighted with the new RBS 6 Nations trophy. The trophy is a magnificent addition to rugby’s greatest Championship and we are looking forward to presenting it to the successful captain on the final weekend of the 2015 Championship.

“I would like to applaud the work of Thomas Lyte, who have produced a stunning trophy to match the status of our competition. “



2000: England
2001: England
2002: France (GS)
2003: England (GS)
2004: France (GS)
2005: Wales (GS)
2006: France
2007: France
2008: Wales (GS)
2009: Ireland (GS)
2010: France (GS)
2011: England
2012: Wales (GS)
2013: Wales
2014: Ireland

Championship Wins: 5 – France, 4 – England, 4 – Wales, 2 – Ireland
Grand Slams (GS): 3 – France, 3 – Wales, 1 – England, 1 – Ireland
Triple Crowns: 4 – Ireland, 3 – Wales, 2 – England