Jump to main content


Ulster Ravens Get Ready For Crunch Rotherham Clash

Ulster Ravens Get Ready For Crunch Rotherham Clash

The Ulster Ravens will aim for their first win of the season when they take on Rotherham Titans at Deramore Park on Friday night (kick-off 7pm).

The CD Group-sponsored Ravens have lost their first two matches in the British & Irish Cup and know they need a victory against the Titans if they are to keep their hopes of qualifying out of Pool 2 alive.

With Luke Marshall injured against Yorkshire Carnegie last weekend, head coach Kieran Campbell has made a number of positional changes in the back-line.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Peter Nelson moves from the left wing to full-back, Jacob Stockdale switches from outside centre to the right wing, Ricky Andrew goes from full-back to outside centre, while Jack Owens starts in the number 12 jersey.

Ross Adair is promoted from the bench to line out on the left wing with Josh Bingham and John Creighton continuing their half-back partnership.

Up front Dave Ryan and Bronson Ross continue at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, while John Andrew comes in at hooker in place of Paul Jackson.

James Simpson and captain Neil McComb combine again in the second row, while the only personnel change in the back row sees Sean Reidy move to the bench with Mike McComish starting at openside flanker. Conor Joyce switches from openside to blindside flanker with Charlie Butterworth continuing at number 8.

The Rotherham team contains three former Ulster players with James McKinney starting at out-half for the visitors, Adam Macklin named at tighthead prop and Ali Birch named in the back row.

Tickets for the round 3 match are priced at £8 for an adult and £5 for children. Family tickets (two adults and two children) are available at £15. Under-10s are free. Please note Ulster Rugby Season Tickets are not valid for this game.

ULSTER RAVENS (v Rotherham Titans): Peter Nelson; Jacob Stockdale, Ricky Andrew, Jack Owens, Ross Adair; Josh Bingham, John Creighton; Dave Ryan, John Andrew, Bronson Ross, James Simpson, Neil McComb (capt), Conor Joyce, Mike McComish, Charlie Butterworth.

Replacements: Paul Jackson, Ricky Lutton, John Donnan, Sean Reidy, Frankie Taggart, Connor Young, Sean O’Hagan.