Jump to main content


Grealish Receives Mr. Boots Award

Grealish Receives Mr. Boots Award

The Mr Boots Award for the 2013/14 season was recently presented to Mick Grealish, a past President of the Connacht Branch, by the IRFU for his contribution to Irish junior rugby.

The award has been in existence since 1981 and has been awarded to some key figures in Irish rugby all across the country, starting with Dick Smith of Thomond as its first recipient.

Current IRFU President Pat Fitzgerald, a proud member of Longford RFC, was chosen as the Mr. Boots Award winner in 2012.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The award was introduced after the retirement of the great Willie John McBride back in 1980. One of his last games was against Arklow RFC and afterwards he presented his boots as a memento, hence the wording of the prestigious annual IRFU award.

Mick Grealish from OLBC RFC is the first Connacht recipient of the Mr. Boots honour since incoming Connacht Branch President Adrian Leddy won the award in 2011.

Mick has been involved in rugby in Galway as a player, coach or mentor for over 50 years. He has had a selfless dedication to Our Lady’s Boys Club, working tirelessly to make facilities and opportunities available to everyone interested in rugby in the city.